We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remnants of another time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunraven Arms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dunraven Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Dunraven Arms Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main St, Adare, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Remnants of another time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This Hotel has retained all that is best of our great tradition of hospitality. The atmosphere is from another time and yet has all the services of the 21st Century. The food and rooms are top class and the surrounding area is magnificent. My first date with my better half was there and we are still together 4 years later. We went back again recently and its still the same.

Room Tip: Keep away from the air conditioning system
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    157
    62
    29
    29
See reviews for
143
308
16
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tralee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for one night. It has a fantastic location on the main road with plenty of on-site parking. Check-in was efficient and the girl at the desk was very pleasant. I had forgotten to pack a razor and asked if there were any available to buy but she provided me with a complementary travel razor straight away.

The room itself was very spacious and comfortable. The curtains are quite dated looking but that's being incredibly picky.

I didn't get the chance to use the pool and gym, but walking by it appeared very modern.

Breakfast is not to be missed here, with a leg of bacon from the bone available at the buffet proving a real treat.

This is a truly fantastic hotel. I always find the service and quality offered in old, established four star hotels to be in a different league to those offered on the modern four stars. The Dunraven is a wonderful example of traditional comfort and hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I have driven past this hotel hundreds of times, but stayed there for the first last Friday night. The reception is pleasant and efficient, the rooms were of good size, fresh and clean. The food was excellent. The hotel is well located for doing business in Limerick and located in the heritage village of Adare. I would recommend it to anyone for any occassion.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel a couple of yrs back for a weekend. Hotel is beautiful and food is wonderful. The rooms are huge but those that are not suites are a little dated. In need of a freshen up etc but this may have been done since and certainly didnt take away from our stay. If there is a wedding on, the rooms facing the garden can be a little noisy. Again though, not overly troublesome. Would like to return again and see have little things improved. Enjoyed our stay. Adare is beautiful. Try the restaurants around town too.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I recently stayed in the Dunraven Arms Hotel in Adare with my wife. Everything from the room, the food, the service was super. Excellent quality throughout, even a cook ham for breakfast instead of rashers!! Can't wait for our next stay.

Room Tip: We room 73.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Now this hotel really does deserve five stars, in every sense of the word - in other words, I don't just mean it's outstanding in its class, I mean it's outstanding, full stop. We spent a three day break there last year - not the first visit, I might add - and I've been meaning to write my review ever since. The decor is comfortably old fashioned - no purple and silver bathrooms, and lighting you can read by in the bedroom!! It's hard to put your finger on what actually makes it so special, because it's very understated - and then you suddenly realise it's consistency. This is a hotel that has been at the top of the tree for a very long time indeed. It gets the best staff, it trains up its new staff to a Parisian level, and yet it retains a wonderful, welcoming and utterly relaxed Irishness. You want a snack at 3.30 in the afternoon after coming in late and missing lunch? Ah sure, madam, a plate of smoked salmon or whatever you fancy is brought to you in the bar. Accompanied by a smile and probably several jokes. You want a liqueur in the bar at half past midnight? Certainly, ah, there's no such thing as too late, sir. The Guinness is poured to the highest pub standard, the food in the restaurant is not over-complicated - but very good indeed, using the freshest and best (mainly) local produce. And it's in the prettiest village in Ireland. No faults at all.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulster
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Greatly enjoyed recent stay here. Has a old world charm (in keeping with the village) with modern facilities, bedroom large and comfortable, and was very quiet despite a large wedding in the hotel. Restaurant was nice and the menu food and service was very good. As commented already, a kettle for a cuppa in the room would have been welcome!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunraven Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunraven Arms Hotel

Address: Main St, Adare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Adare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunraven Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dunraven Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunraven Arms Adare
Hotel Dunraven Arms

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunraven Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.