We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Luxury Plus Value at World Class Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adare Manor Hotel & Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added Adare Manor Hotel & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Adare Manor Hotel & Golf Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Adare, Adare, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Adare
Anderson, Indiana
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Spectacular Luxury Plus Value at World Class Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

We spent a week in Ireland at the American owned Resort in one of their "Villas". It is actually a superbly furnished townhome consisting of Three Bedrooms en suite, plus an additional downstairs bath, den, living area, dining area, kitchen, and 'conservatory' sitting room. The Manor House is a renovation of a 150 yr old mansion/castle that has been converted to a World Class resort along the lines of USA's Greenbriar and Homestead resorts in Virginia. It was a luxurious haven upon return from day trips in the beautiful country of Ireland, just south of Limerick City. Everything is immaculate and refined. The staff upon check-in are professional and attentive. The 840 acre estate is pleasant and quiet, teeming with wild life and a wonderful place to take walks.

We stayed on a package deal through a US agency who will go unnamed because I felt they lacked a certain amount of attentiveness once the package was paid for. The only negative I can say about Adare Manor was that it's food and drink services are meant for the very wealthy. Three cocktails after dinner resulted in a charge of about $15 each. We chose to imbibe in the charming village of Adare outside the walls of Adare Manor to keep more within our budget.

The accomodations in the Villas, about a 10-15 min. walk, or in our case, a two minute drive to the main Manor House, was a pure delight to call our 'home' for six nights. It is also a great base for day trips to Cork, Waterford, Ring of Kerry (a very long day), the Dingle Peninsula, The Burren and the Cliffs of Moher.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    813
    161
    51
    28
    8
See reviews for
324
397
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

Adare Manor itself is beautiful and I'm sure deserves the 5 star reviews it gets.This review is purely of the golf lodges which in contrast are OK (clean well located etc) but nothing more than functional and nothing special for the price charged. So if you can negotiate a good rate then do go play the course itself (Adare Golf Club) whch is beautifully laid out in a lovely setting, but be aware that as you might expect in a resort course they certainly do know how to charge !

One further quick pointer - Adare Manor Golf Course is actually a separate members' course adjacent to the Adare Golf Club, which is the one attached to the hotel. Confusing isn't it ?

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

My husband and I live in Limerick so have not, as of yet, had the pleasure of staying the night in Adare Manor. We have however, had the incredible pleasure of dining at the oak room. For the true foodies amongst you I felt compelled to let you know about the wonderful experience that is eating in the Oak room at Adare manor.
Consistently, We leave here aching to return. From the moment one arrives you feel indulged and so very much taken care of (all too often this is not the case in so many restaurants).The team of people from the 'maitre d ' to the waiters are so proffessional, friendly and attentive. They manange to create a wonderful ambience helped along too by the beautiful surroundings, ( if it is a romantic meal for two you are hoping for, request the terrace area to dine beneath Gothic stone arches, behind cut stone windows and all by candlelight!!!!! It is just Magical!!!) This is just the beginning: the true brilliance ( and i do not say this lightly) lies behind their head chef and indeed the pastry chef , the food is just delicious from start to finish, every mouthful to be savoured, no course disappointed, rather,each left us excited at the prospect of what the next would bring. We have eaten here often and I can safely say that not once have we been in any way disappointed, I am perpetually amazed at our ability to even have the luck to be able to get a table at this magical restaurant. If you plan to stay at Adare Manor, I cannot recommend highly enough that you have at the very least, one night of experiencing dining at the Oak room, it is worth every penny and in my opinion excellent value for all that you recieve.( A tip from us : have a glass of champagne in the drawing room whilst salivating over the wonderful menu and wine list, they will take your order from there and show you to your table just as dinner is served!!).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire, USA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

Our group of four stayed at the villas for a week, and we enjoyed it immensely! First of all, we couldn't believe the size of the villa; it is huge! With three bedrooms, an extra den, and 4 bathrooms, we had more than enough space to spread out luxuriously! Plus, the full kitchen proved to be handy to prepare the occasional meal. Our end-unit villa did have some signs of wear and tear around the edges, and if I really wanted to be picky, the master bathroom could have been cleaned up a wee bit better. All in all, the accommodation was fabulous! The grounds of the Manor are amazing, and the service was terrific. FYI, they do provide enough laundry soap for two loads, enough detergent for 3 dishwasher cycles, and two hotels soaps for each bathroom.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

My mother wanted to go to Ireland, so for her 82nd birthday, my husband and myself took my mother. The Adare manor is a perfect example of the beauty of Ireland.

We stayed in the Villas. The Villa had a handicap bathroom for my mother right off of her bedroom. The other bedrooms had individual bathrooms inside each of the other bedrooms. All of the rooms were very large.

The staff was outstanding. We had a problem with the refrigerator in the Villa. I let maintenance know of the problem...and within 15 minutes they replaced the refrigerator. I can't get that kind of service here in the states!

During my walk around the grounds I found a VietNam war memorial and a pet cemetry.

We celebrated my mom's birthday with a dinner at the manor. It definately was a 5 star dinner.

Although the pictures of the Adare Manor webpage cannot capture the beauty...I would highly recommend the Adare Manor to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester,WV
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

My wife and I visited Adare Manor in August 2008 on our 39th anniversary and had such a wonderful time we decided to return with our daughter, son-in-law and three grandchildren. The second time was even better than the first. All the staff in Ireland and Mary the US rep in FL took care of every request we asked. Guillaume was a perfect assistant to help me present my suprise gift to my wife during our 40th anniversary dinner.
Outstanding staff in a magnificent country estate resort . The villas provided the exact accommodations for our family and the location was just right for day trips to the SW. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

We just returned from a week in Ireland staying in the villas at the Adare Manor. What a fabulous week. We did not stay in the Manor yet the staff treated us as if we did taking care of our every need. They even opened the gift shop for us one evening after dinner so we could shop. We had a tour of the house and dinner in the Oak room. You should treat yourself to that marvelous meal. We also ate at the golf club and I personally had the best hamburger I had received in years. It is a bit tough to use this as a home base but it can be done. We had fairly long days on the road but it was worth it. We will be back! The village is unbelievably charming.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Adare Manor Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adare Manor Hotel & Golf Resort

Address: Adare, Adare, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Adare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Adare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Adare Manor Hotel & Golf Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the lush heartlands of County Limerick, Adare Manor Hotel and Golf Resort is one of Ireland's most evocative and spellbinding castle hotels. Steeped in exotic history and surrounded by medieval ruins, its 840-acre demesne is home to beautiful parklands, superb trout fishing on the river Maigue, and a renowned 18 hole championship golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones Senior. Unique and individual accommodation, the best of contemporary Irish food in an incomparable setting, and the highest standards of modern hospitality are hallmarks of the Manor experience. Adare Manor is a 25 minute drive from Shannon International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Adare Manor Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adare Manor Hotel And Golf Resort
Adare Manor Hotel & Golf Adare
Adare Manor Resort
Adare Manor Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adare Manor Hotel & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.