We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Friendliest Pub in Adare!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sean Collins & Sons Bar

Sean Collins & Sons Bar
Main Street, Adare, Ireland
+353 (0) 61 396400
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 restaurants in Adare
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Lino Lakes, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Friendliest Pub in Adare!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is one of those places that makes you feel like you belong there. We were in Adare for two nights in November, and although very quiet and not busy at all, we felt truly welcomed by the staff at Sean Collins. The owner was out of town, but his two employees, Kim and Tara, were simply fabulous. They provided us with much laughter and conversation, as well as great pints and food. You simply have to try the garlic bread...a great late night snack! We ventured back on our second night, and had the most marvelous time with a few locals and Kim as well. What a great start to our Irish adventure! Thanks for the great fun!! We'll back back for sure...

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    245
    62
    13
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Friendly People!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We simply loved this bar! A great place to get a Toasty and sit back and watch a game. The pints are ever-flowing, much like the service. The bartender is very nice, and we simply enjoyed a great Irish welcome! Good times, indeed!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poolesville, MD
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place to eat, relax, and enjoy the true sense of Ireland. The food is wonderful and the service is great.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

There is nothing about the Sean Collins Bar that I did not like. I've been numerous times over the years and still continue to visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“Fantastic Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Stayed at the Adare Manor,we took a few minutes to read the reviews on here and decided on this pub. Everything lived up to the hype, the food, the staff and yes Sean himself sat and visited with us. Nice to see an owner who is that active in his own place and takes the time to meet with each guest and see how they are doing. Per many other reviews it seemed like the stew should be the choice for dinner and boy were they right! I can't emphasize enough, try the stew, get the stew! amazing stuff... The only thing that put me a bit off was the American family next to us ordered some sort of California chicken wrap and a pizza..C'mon folks you are in Ireland get the stew!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely food, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We visited on a Friday night to watch Ireland football, great screens available for watching matches but we left when the trad Irish band started.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sean Collins & Sons Bar also viewed

 
Adare, County Limerick
Adare, County Limerick
 

Been to Sean Collins & Sons Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sean Collins & Sons Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.