We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Door

The Blue Door
Main Street, Adare, Ireland
+353 61 396 481
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 18 Restaurants in Adare
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Irish, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015 NEW

A really nice restaurant, you need to make a reservation. The staff were very friendly and efficient. Good choice on the menu. The food was excellent, locally sourced and fresh.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    60
    17
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Greatest meal on our Ireland trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015 NEW

The Blue Door was a find. Not much in Adare, but this restaurant fit the bill.Grace was our server. She was gracious, helpful, friendly and efficient. The food was outstanding. It's a little small and fortunately not crowded during our Tuesday night visit.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Duck Confit was amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

Why can't I get duck like this at home?! It fell right off the bone and the sauce it was served in was amazing, The staff were excellent and they had a nice selection of wines. A must visit when in Adare.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“On the way through to Killarney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015 via mobile

Nice spot we stopped with children around teatime and nothing was too much trouble. Food was tasty and good value.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Small and beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015 via mobile

5 of us went on Friday for dinner and were duly impressed. We all had the prawn starter in a Greek pastry which tasted like more. It was delicious. I had the confit of duck and 2 friends had the chicken and 1 friend had the salmon. The mains were beautifully presented with a very generous portion of fresh veg and pots. We managed to drink 3 bottles of wine and loved every bit of our meal. The staff were very attentive and we were last to leave the restaurant. Great food. I can unreservedly recommend the blue door. The set menu price was 30€ pp

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Door also viewed

Adare, County Limerick
 
Adare, County Limerick
 

Been to The Blue Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Door, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.