We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you stay in Carrick -Stay in Ciuin House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ciuin House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carrick-on-Shannon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ciuin House
Save
You added Ciuin House to your Saves list
Hartley, Carrick-on-Shannon, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“If you stay in Carrick -Stay in Ciuin House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012 via mobile

We loved it. Got fantastic service it's so clean and it's under new management. They could not be nicer.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    5
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

Ciuin House is a a small (15 rooms) modern hotel on the edge of Carrick-on-Shannon about half a mile from the main part of town. The first thing that struck me about the hotel was the cleanliness; this is a recently built hotel and every wall and surface gleamed. The bathrooms were all spotless and my wife had a sneaky peak at the kitchen. She swore that it was as spotless as a hosptal operating theatre and my wife is not generally known for being easily impressed.

Nothing was too much trouble for the owners and their team. All food was made from fresh, local produce, cooked to a very high standard and served in a friendly but professional style. Off-menu items (pizza and chips) for the fussier kids were not a problem.

This isn't so much a family-run business as a labour of love where the owners strive (very successfully) to offer a near perfect hotel experience. I really couldn't recommend Ciuin House highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
almelo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2010

Okay people listen up the CIUIN HOUSE is a very very good place to go fiona and her husband are xo xo friendly and caring for there costumers, let me put some things on about the CIUIN HOUSE.
- its very lux
- very nice big rooms
- super clean and hyghienisch
- beautiful relaxing room
- good wifi connection
- peacefull place and ciuin
- friendly girl how makes ur breakfast
- dinner ...people fiona is xooo good in cooking im allready missing it and my tummy hurts afther eating becouse its xo much but you cant stop eating its xo good
- its close to town and mal evrything is close
Xo people this is the PLACE to GO if ill go back its 1 road back to CIUIN HOUSE i realy had a GOOD TIME there.
-there is a golden house rule dont smoke insite the house if you keep on that this place is paradise, but i almost forgot to smoke there and im a strong smoker

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

I originally booked to stay here in August 2008 while attending a wedding as the Landmark was booked out! We were given a room on the ground floor which was of much higher standard than some hotels I have stayed in. The room was very spacious and tastefully decorated, so clean it almost seemed new but Fiona (the owner)informed us the guesthouse was nearly three years old. Breakfast the next morning was second to none and would put a lot of hotels to shame, great menu and lots of choice. Upon our return in December 2008, we were upgraded to the Superior room which was even more spacious and the room had the luxery of jacuzzi bath, dressing gown, slippers and even chocolates...did not want to leave! Since then found plently of excuses to go back to Carrick and always book into Ciuin House, would recommend it before the hotels, you get that personal touch that you do not get with hotels. Nothing is ever a problem and you are treated like royalty, not only by Fiona and Barry but the rest of the staff there are extremely friendly and helpful. Looking forward to my next stay there in three weeks time!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

We selected the Ciuin House online from their website as we were planning to visit family in County Leitrim. Fiona and Barry the proprietors were anticipating our arrival and helped us get settled into two spacious, well appointed, and immaculate rooms. My husband and I had one room with a sitting area, armoire, desk, and a very spacious modern bath. Our young adult children were situated down the hall in another room with the same amenities.

The dining room and parlor area was just as depicted on their website. Beautiful. The full Irish Breakfast was essentially anything we wanted and one of the best we had during our Ireland stay. Since we were staying on the upper floor our rooms had skylights/windows which opened and took fabulous panoramic photos of the surrounding countryside.

Our only regret is that we could not have spent more time at the Ciuin House since we were visiting family and were traveling around Ireland. Our other stays in Ireland included the Ballynahinch and Dromoland castles and we can honestly assert that the accommodations at the Ciuin House were equally on par with what you would expect at a fine establishment.

We highly recommend the Ciuin House and assure you that you will have a pleasant, relaxing, quiet (it's in their name), and welcoming experience during your stay. Not to be missed.

Ron and Gina M.
New York

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2009

A bit out of town, but very comfortable, impeccably clean, a good restaurant and the staff couldn’t have been more helpful. We had a wonderful room, light and spacious, comfortable arm chairs and really comfortable beds. A large bathroom was well appointed and had everything we might need. A good experience.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2009

Really enjoyed the stay at this guest house. Owners/staff very firendly and helpful. Top class food in the restaurant and accommodation was great. I would highly recommned this guest house to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ciuin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ciuin House

Address: Hartley, Carrick-on-Shannon, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Leitrim > Carrick-on-Shannon
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Carrick-on-Shannon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ciuin House is a high quality low cost B&B facilitating group accommodation. Ciuin House can accommodate 42 persons. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciuin House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.