We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful escape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Battlebridge Caravan & Camping Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carrick-on-Shannon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Battlebridge Caravan & Camping Park
| Leitrim Village, Carrick-on-Shannon, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We celebrated our wedding anniversary in a glamping tent here beside the river. The location and weather were excellent and the staff very welcoming. There is a pub near the glamping area and the food and service great here. The tent was complete luxury with every little detail thought of. We hope up celebrate a few more romantic occasions here.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EBeirne, Owner at Battlebridge Caravan & Camping Park, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed your stay in a glamping tent and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    17
    8
    12
    13
See reviews for
44
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stayed with my family here at the end of the summer to experience glamping for the first time. We were all really excited at this, given it had been the first time we had been away together in a while, however the experience left us a little disappointed. When we arrived the onsite bat/restaurant was closed and there was no point of contact to check in/ask questions. We had to call the main number and the lady who owns the site came promptly to show us to our yurt - she was very friendly. At first glance everything looked nice, however on inspection it was obvious that the yurts have been allowed to deteriorate and have not be cared for with much love or attention. The surrounding area was picturesque beside the river, however the grass was overgrown and the general area was not maintained. There was a decking area close to the yurt, which was nice but the BBQs were not cleaned and the furniture, including the cushions were covered in dirt and bird droppings, which made them unusable. The most inconvenient aspect of the stay was undoubtedly the bathroom/shower facilities, of where were communal with the rest of the site, comprised of camper vans and tents. As the glamping site has no individual bathrooms or showers, it meant at least a ten minute walk to use these facilities, which was really inconvenient during the night when it was cold and raining. Given these facilities serviced the whole campsite they were extremely poor. There were two showers for the ladies - coin operated. On one of the mornings, one of these showers was broken and as there was nobody around to ask to fix the shower, this resulted in a queue of seven people lined up just to have a shower. However, I must say that the bar was small but warm and friendly and the bar and restaurant staff were very nice. The food was really good in the restaurant and definitely worth a try. The local village has very little to offer, however the town has everything you would need. In reality is, that this is not glamping, it is simply camping with a plug socket. It seemed as though the owners went into the glamping experience with enthusiasm but somehow lost interest and the motivation to maintain it. If you want the experience of glamping I'm afraid that you may have to look elsewhere. If however you wish to just camp with electricity then this may be right up your street.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Stay here for a hen weekend back in August, we had one pod and two tents, the pod was nice but very small but at least it was warm and no mould!! The tents were awful, full of mould we even removed the pillow cases and duvet cover and both the pillows and duvet underneath were covered in black mould spots!! It rained a lot during our stay and the tents were so damp the duvets were wet and cold, it was awful. You had to pay for the showers, but the water was cold and basically just a few drops coming out of a tap!! There was no lighting around the tents and it was pitch dark and actually dangerous for tripping over things! Overall We were all very disappointed with our stay and we complained on our return home but received a very inadequate response! I would definitely not recommend this to hen parties or any group and I would certainly not return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great location for fishing. Immaculately clean. Very relaxing soothing campsite. Went with friends in motorhome. Was a lovely time away. We would definitely go again. loved it there. Nice relaxed time. Spotless no matter where you went.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights at the end of August,Saturday til Thursday.
The location is excellent and we were initially very enthusiastic to stay,then discovered Monday that the pub/shop/reception doesn't open til 8pm and there is no food through the week available,that would be fair enough but I feel the price we paid of 24euros per night for 2 adults +caravan was way too high for a site with nothing available,we are well used to paying up to 30 per night but for that usually you get some security and a shop available,if I wanted a field to park up in I could choose a caravan club CL for around £10 per night !!
The final nail in the coffin for me came when on our last night on an empty site we decided to use the nice decking overlooking the River Shannon to have a drink for hour,then from nowhere an official told us this was private for glampers only,absolutely ridiculous!!!
Sorry to say that if you want a good site for the money go to River Valley at Redcross,they seem to know how to look after campers in my experience.
Missed opportunity I'm afraid Beirnes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moate, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Went to Battlebridge on a Girlie weekend away in August this year and we enjoyed it soo much we are going back in May 2014 :) (Its already booked!). We had 17 in the group, some were in tents and some were in the pods, everything was spotless, there was lots of room in them and we had everything we could possibly want such as kettle, cups, plates etc... There is a communal area where there was a gas BBQ's available to use whenever we wanted so we made breakfast rolls for the group each morning.

Eilish to owner cooked a BBQ for us on the Friday evening which was fabulous. On the Saturday we had the meal in the restaurant onsite which again was beautiful - the portions are very big (I had the Chicken Burger). the staff are wonderful there is a real homely feeling about the place. Cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kildare
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just returned today from a 2 day stay in a family tent in Beirnes of Battlebridge; not what I expected at all! I have stayed in many camp sites throughout Ireland and this was one of my worst experiences to date. Pitched tent with great expectations only to find ourselves still awake at 2am; the veranda at the on site pub overlooks the camping area and was inhabited by a rowdy crowd shouting & laughing until the early hours. The camping area was home to many families most with young children and there was nobody on site to control this disgraceful behaviour.
The ladies toilets had no soap, the pay shower (cost €1.50) did not provide hot water nor was there hot water in the tap at times. Bar food was fine and waitress very pleasant. The highlight of our stay was a visit to the Arigna Mines.
In my opinion this camp site would definitely suit adults and families with teenage children as the whole experience centers around the pub; with little thought given to the campers on site who are paying guests afterall.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Battlebridge Caravan & Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battlebridge Caravan & Camping Park

Address: | Leitrim Village, Carrick-on-Shannon, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Leitrim > Carrick-on-Shannon
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty lodging in Carrick-on-Shannon
Also Known As:
Battlebridge Caravan And Camping Park
Battlebridge Caravan & Camping Park Hotel Carrick-On-Shannon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Battlebridge Caravan & Camping Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Battlebridge Caravan & Camping Park to your Saves list