We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Martin makes magic tea!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dooneen House Bed & Breakfast

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinsale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dooneen House Bed & Breakfast
Bandon Road | Ardcarrig, Kinsale, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 53 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Martin makes magic tea!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

We had a great stay in Doneen house and it is an example of Irish hospitality at its best. The B&B is clean and comfortable and very good value for money. The owners are lovely and couldn't have been kinder or more helpful. Martin drove us to our sailing club the night before our lessons so we would know the way the following morning. They gave us advice on Kinsale and even made dinner reservations for us. Also, Martin makes 'magic tea' with great healing properties after a day of sailing!! We would highly recommend Dooneen house.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    2
    5
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
tipperary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

we enjoyed our stay on valentines weekend.we were very happy with the service and we both taught the people of the house were very pleasant and enjoyed the conversation with them at the breakfast table.the breakfasts were top class and the accomodation is very cheap this day in age.....it baffles me how anyone could moan about the service but anyway everyone to there own...we rated this b&b very highly and will be returning when we want to go to kinsale in the future if we are lucky enough to get a vacancy.....willie and michelle

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

We are not picky travelers, but felt the need to write a negative review for this B&B. First, we arrived within the 3 hour window requested, only to find an empty house. We waited a while, and finally walked down to the town to wait in a pub. The owner of the pub offered to call the owners of Dooneen House for us, and they told her they would be home after 7 pm. So we arrived after 7, and someone let us in and showed us our room. However, this was a relative of the owner, who knew nothing of our reservation, and could not answer any of our questions. We were given 2 twin beds instead of the double bed we requested, but she was unable to contact the owners to change our room, so we were out of luck.

We didn't actually see the owners until breakfast. The food was decent, however, it was strange that all the guests were seated at one dining table. Personally, I prefer the B&Bs with individual tables. Needless to say, the other guests dining with us were unhappy with their stay as well. The rooms were just okay, in need of updating. But I found this to be the case in many of the B&Bs we visited.

The town of Kinsale is a charming, beautiful place to visit, however we felt that our stay at the Dooneen House put a damper on the short time we had there.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

Location was not that good to start with. Rooms were small and without some basic things like tea/coffee kettle and soap. Heater was not working all days and could not get some one to start it. Breakfast was fine, not great. B&B itself was clean.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

Room was OK but NO TV or tea and coffe making. There was a so called 'TV lounge' but to be honest it was two very very old looking chairs and an even older TV (no remote and limited channels)
Shower is very poor.
Breakfast was average but have to sit round a large table with all other guests - not something I want to do first thing in the morning would have like own tables.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

Interestingly enough I had read most of the reviews prior to our arrival at Dooneen House and was a little skiddish at first as to what we were going to find. What we found was beyond expectation, the breakfeast was great, totally love Irish bacon, and the accomodations, although modest, were clean and fresh. As important as the accomodations to us, and much of the reason we stayed in B & B's while in Ireland, was to meet the people!! Martin and Eileen ,the proprietors of Dooleen House, made our stay in Kinsale extra special. Every recommendation they made regarding what to see and do around Kinsale led to amazing memories. We will long cherish the time we spent at "the Spaniard" with them listening to some great music, sharing a few pints and listening to some fantastic stories!! If I ever have the pleasure to make my way back to Ireland, undoubtedly we would stay with the O'Conners!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights, and were very happy with the B&B. The hosts were lovely, the room was nice (if a little damp), and had just been redone. Regarding the comment of the user who said that light coming through the window over the door upset them, we just went out to the corridor and turned off the light, no big deal ! Breakfast was excellent, and our hosts were brilliant about giving us directions to go where we needed to. All in all, given the price that a lot of guest houses charge in Kinsale, Dooneen house is very good value for money, and a great place to stay !!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dooneen House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dooneen House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Bandon Road | Ardcarrig, Kinsale, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dooneen House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dooneen House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list