We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay here.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodlands House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinsale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woodlands House
Save
You added Woodlands House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Cappagh | Bandon Road, Kinsale, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 53 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Venice, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely stay here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Our family of four enjoyed a short stay here last week. House is very convenient to restaurants and attractions. The owners, Valerie and Brian were very hospitable and "child friendly". They provided a wonderful breakfast and could not do enough to help out with details about the town's attractions and ways of getting to them. The house is also nicely decorated and has a great view of Kinsale harbor from the front.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    35
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
67
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

My family recently visited Kinsale as part of a two week tour around Ireland. We loved the country and particularly enjoyed our stay in Kinsale. We decided to spend our nights in local B&B’s, primarily for convenience and to experience the renowned Irish hospitality. We were so pleased that we did. We stayed in about 10 B&B’s over the two weeks, so got to know the differences well, and my reviews are relative to each other and not to other B&B’s in the area. Generally the B&B operators were local, knowledgeable about the area and they consistently demonstrated wonderful Irish hospitality. Our stay at Woodlands House was no different. Valerie was a wonderful host. The B&B is located just 10 mins walk up from Kinsale village up the Bandon Road, and it’s a little windy, so make sure you know the way (my wife got lost). Kinsale is one of the most beautiful villages in Ireland with lots to do. My son and I played golf at Old Head, a most amazing golf course, and the rest of the family enjoyed some beautiful meals and the Ghost Walk of Kinsale. The B&B was relatively easy to find; parking was convenient and check-in was very smooth. The comfort and quality of the rooms were adequate for our needs, and the beds comfortable enough. Our room and ensuite bathroom was spotless. The Irish breakfast was good. Wi-Fi was a bit spotty and not available in our room. Overall a nice stay and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, Oregon, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We rolled into Kinsale in the middle of the afternoon on a holiday weekend and were able to book the last available room. It was wonderful! The Woodlands House is very close to town center and after a short walk we found ourselves surrounded with restaurants, pubs and shops. John and Valerie were great hosts and the locals were very open and friendly. Breakfast was very nice and we truly enjoyed meeting our fellow lodgers. I see where one reviewer who was there about the same time as us complained about a loud snorer.....I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for it could very well have been me. All in all a very positive experience. I would recommend the Woodlands House to anyone.

Room Tip: They do not actually have a fitness room however the walk back from town is all uphill so I guess th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We loved our short stay in Kinsale. The Woodlands House is a great location for walking into town for dinner and entertainment, and not having to worry about driving back. The hosts, Valerie and Brian, were very friendly. And, breakfast was great, and served in a lovely room.
The only draw back to our stay, was that there was a very loud snorer in a room near ours, and we could hear him. But, once asleep, we slept fine.
And, our room had a great view of the Bay! Very pretty!

Room Tip: Upstairs with a view of the Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Ultra clean and comfortable, a geat base from which to explore the town of Kinsale (walk everywhere) or for day trips out into the countryside. Brian says he is second in command but does a good job of masterfully interviewing you over b'fst and assuring you have the benefit of his area knwoledge for your next outing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

When Valerie waited up till 11:30 PM for us as we were delayed and greeted us so warmly and graciously that said everything. She and Brian made us feel totally at home in their lovely place, so warmly and artistically decorated. Everything about our stay there was perfect, the location, the hospitality, the food and the rooms. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Immaculate and pleasant owners! Big rugby game was on, they welcomed us into the front living room with a roaring fire (dreary day) and tea to get our rugby fix. We loved the breakfast bread so much they shared the recipe. Stayed twice and continue to recommend to friends.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodlands House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands House

Address: Cappagh | Bandon Road, Kinsale, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodlands House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodlands House is a luxury, four star approved B&B a mere seven-minute walk from the harbour town of Kinsale in County Cork. Comfort is guaranteed as visitors are treated to ensuite bathrooms and king size beds. Breakfasts are home cooked and offer a wide selection of dishes. An array of in-room facilities are also available to guests, including free Wi-Fi Internet, tea and coffee making facilities, TV, hairdryer, direct dial telephone and ironing facilities. The large garden provides a quiet, relaxed atmosphere, while private parking guarantees peace of mind. The harbour town of Kinsale offers visitors a selection of gourmet restaurants, sailing, deep sea angling and golf. Kinsale is an Irish Heritage Town and has benefited from a rich and interesting past, which has resulted in a plethora of historical remnants being sprinkled around the town. Among the highlights are the 17th century Charles Fort, the Church of Ireland church built in 1190 and a 16th century Tower House. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodlands House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.