We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in Ireland for peaceful stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rivermount House B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Rivermount House B&B to your Saves list
Rivermount House B&B
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Barrells Cross, Kinsale, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 53 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mountain Home, Arkansas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great place in Ireland for peaceful stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I was traveling with a group and we all enjoyed our stay. Everything was clean and the room had a wonderful view. The bathroom was very up to date. One member of our group did not like her room, because the fumes from the boiler made her I'll, but everyone else loved theirs. I had an amazing view overlooking the river. The breakfast was the full Irish breakfast, and it was quite good. The place is off the beaten path, about seven minutes out of KInsale, so you must drive to town for shopping and eating. But, it was very peaceful and beautiful in the countryside. Get pdirections before you go. We turned around a few times trying to find it. But, it was a lovely place to stay, and I would recommend it very highly!

Room Tip: The room upstairs in the front of the house had a great view, and one of the upstairs rear rooms had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    48
    19
    9
    5
See reviews for
93
149
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We arrived late - the GPS did not help as much as it should have -- and that was not a problem. The room was beautiful, as was the view from the room and the breakfast area and front yard. Overall, a very nice B&B in a very nice setting.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Murieta, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Hi Claire!! To all of you reading this review I am hoping my title and the fact that I open by saying Hi to Claire tells you that if you pass over this B and B for a booking, you not only will be missing out on an awesome, beautiful B and B that provides top notch rooms, breakfast, and a great staff that assist with breakfast service, you will also miss out on having the pleasure of meeting Claire! I feel she is the kind of lady that says ( to me ) here I am, I am Irish, I love people and doing what I do, and loves her home and family. Her kindness and outgoing personality is a breath of fresh air in one's travel, and she and her husband will make sure you are taken care of, one only needs to ask. I needed to take a break from driving, and since I felt so welcome there, my friend and I stayed 3 nights instead of 2! Thanks Claire for accomadating us!! So glad to have met you!

PS, for any readers that see points taken off or any negative comments from others, it just seems to me, in my opinion, those reviews are missing the mark and missing what is!

Marie

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
479 reviews 479 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 185 cities Reviews in 185 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

A really good upmarket B&B just outside Kinsale. Much better to stay here and travel 5mins into the town than try to find a parking place when staying in Kinsale.
The B&B sits on top of an elevated area with a beautiful vista and is modern, clean and very stylish. Lots of safe and roomy parking is available.
Good bedrooms with comfy beds and excellent showering and bathing facilities.
Breakfast was great and a fine range of possibilities was offered. Didn't care for the porridge which hadn't enough salt in it, otherwise everything was very tasty.
Very friendly and helpful hosts and I would stay there again. Why waste money on downmarket imitations when you can stay in style here?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

What can I say?? I think its perfectly covered in the title! My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at Rivermount 5th Aug for 3 wonderful days..... The minute we arrived I knew we had made the right choice, perfect tranquil setting and of course the amazing views. My initial reaction whilst inside the house was wow, the decor is fantastic and there isn't one bad thing I could say. We were greeted by Claire who was just lovely she showed us to our room and yet again the room was decorated to such a high standard with a huge ensuite!! We were situated to the back of the house which was more than fine because when we looked through the window we noticed the horses, much better than looking at some drab concrete in the usual hotel, and the peace and quiet was great!

After we had settled in we went down stairs to look around and claire very kindly made me a cup of tea with some very morish tray bakes, a very nice touch after a long journey esp being 8.5months pregnant!! A great host who went out of her way to please :-)

What can i say about the breakfast? One of the best breakfast's I've ever had, infact I even commented to my husband about the standard of the crockery and the napkins in they're holder etc, attention to detail was definately covered.

I could go on and on but I think you will get the jist of what im saying, over all a fantastic place to stay, very clean and reasonably priced for this standard of B+B infact this little gem is far better than some hotels and I cannot wait to stay here again!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipston on Stour
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We spent one night at Rivermount and were most impressed with the cleanliness of the house, the excellent breakfast and the enthusiasm and friendliness of our hosts. Our room was comfortable and very clean with an excellent shower.
We were greeted by very friendly Martin in the evening and met the delightful Clare at breakfast. Both could not have been more welcoming.
We all (3) could not recommend a b&b more highly than this - we went on to another in Kerry which was the complete opposite end of the spectrum!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallulah Falls, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We had a lovely 2 night stay at Rivermount House. My husband and I were traveling through Ireland with 2 other couples and we all enjoyed our stay. The home is so very nice, clean, warm and inviting. We enjoyed sitting together in the front room planning the next days travels. The view was simply beautiful. The breakfast was delicious and served with elegance. Loved all the fruit and delicious breads. There were several choices each morning. My favorite was smoked salmon and eggs! We all felt very comfortable at Rivermount House. A great place to stay in Ireland.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rivermount House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivermount House B&B

Address: Barrells Cross, Kinsale, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rivermount House B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the scenic river, Rivermount House completed a total upgrade and refurbishment in 2008. It offers four-star quality at affordable rates. We feature classic mahogany furniture, heavily embossed wall coverings and exquisite soft furnishings, which have all resulted in creating an ambiance of luxury comfort and style. With a classy polished marble foyer, this accommodation feels more like a boutique hotel but with the personal attention and traditional warmth of a B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Rivermount House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivermount House Bed And Breakfast
Rivermount House Hotel Kinsale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rivermount House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.