We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bruno's

Bruno's
36 Main Street, Kinsale, Ireland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 60 Restaurants in Kinsale
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husband and I went to Bruno's. Though they were busy, they found a table for us and we enjoyed good service and food. It probably is better to make a reservation to ensure yourself a table. The starter we shared was the crab crostini. The bread was delicious, the amount of crab was more than adequate but I felt there could have been more flavor and seasoning added to the crab mixture. It may be that I am partial to the taste of the blue crab from my home in Louisiana or that I am accustomed to spicier food. The pepperoni pizza was excellent--it reminded me of the wonderful pizza we ate in Bellagio, Italy. The meat was very flavorful, the sauce light but tasty and the crust delicious. The pizza has a hint of red pepper so we enjoyed the spice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    18
    7
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Italian with an Irish Twist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This restaurant was a chance find for us. The building is a stone cottage which contains the remains of an original Lighthouse which makes for an intimate setting.
The menu was short and the dining experience European, in the wait between courses.Plenty of time to enjoy the very good 'House Red'.
Our choices from the menu were; Fresh Crab crostini with a crisp salad topped with a nasturtium flower. Fresh Ravioli of Beetroot and Ricotta and salad accompaniment.
The main we chose to share- Pizza Jack McCarthy topped with mozzerella,black pudding,leek and apple. The food was amazing with all flavours unusual but very good together.
A great evening with a very welcoming Host.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food great atmosphere great fiun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We dined last night at Brunos shared some spectacular crab laws then My wife had ravioli she said was some of the best ever I Had penne with sausage that I asked for a straw to get every ounce of it was that good!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian food with a twist!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We had a brilliant meal here. Shared crab claws to start and a pepperoni pizza and pulled pork salad for mains. Sticky toffee pudding to finish. Not a scrap left from anything. The specials were really unusual (mackerel pizza) and we'll definitely be back to try these out. Our server was great with a fab wine recommendation and very friendly service. Interesting interior too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good but could have been better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Good food but incredibly slow service - on a Thursday night. Starter was delicious but waited about an hour for pizza which arrived a bit burnt dinner lost its momentum.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bruno's also viewed

Kinsale, County Cork
 
Kinsale, County Cork
Kinsale, County Cork
 

Been to Bruno's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bruno's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.