We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Gate House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinsale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Gate House
Save
You added Golden Gate House to your Saves list
Golden Gate House, Barrack Street, | Kinsale, Co. Cork, Kinsale, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 53 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfect place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the BEST B&Bs I have stayed at in Ireland - it's a close walk from the Desmond castle and church. This perfect B&B is close to some of the over priced recommended B&B on Lonely Planet but by far the better option !! The hosts are so friendly and go out of their way to help you in any way possible. The rooms are clean and very comfortable, all furniture and finishes are brand new. Breakfast is fantastic - try the waffles and scones - they are AMAZING !!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this superb B&B in Kinsale for four nights and used it as a base to travel Cork county. Situated a mere three minute walk from the town centre, this B&B is centrally located, yet much more reasonably priced than the other B&Bs further along the same road. The pristine bedroom with ensuite bathroom was newly furnished and very spacious. Our hosts were so friendly and welcoming, and they gave us great tips on activities, walks in the area, and restaurant recommendations. Breakfast was scrumptious - Carol's homebaked scones and waffles were out of this world! We would've stayed longer if we had the time!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The owner of Olde Bakery recommended Golden Gate House to us and we had a wonderful time. The owners are warm,friendly, and very helpful.Our airline had lost our luggage and Carole helped us get our luggage. They also made wonderful recommendations for food and entertainment.The golden Gate house is about 10 minute walk from town. Our room was very neat and clean. The bed is comfortable.The food was wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The owner of Olde Bakery recommended Golden Gate House to us and we had a wonderful time. The owners are very warm, friendly, and extremely helpful. Our airline had lost our luggage (over the Easter holiday no less) and Carole helped us get it immediately by working with the delivery driver. Also, they were filled with great recommendations for restaurants and pubs. Their house is by Desmond Castle, just a short (probably 5-10 min) walk to Kinsale center. The breakfasts were delicious, and there were multiple options beyond just the traditional irish breakfast. I would recommend Golden Gate House to anyone staying in Kinsale!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somis
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This B7B was recommended by the owner of the Olde Bakery B & B, she kindly helped us as we were knocking on an empty building late in the day, tired, cold and looking for a B& B with rooms available. The owner came down and we followed her to the Golden Gate which is set up above the town but in easy walking distance to the town center. Very accomodating, and gracious hosts. The room was quiet and beds were comfortable. Good breakfast. The scones were wonderful!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Gate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Gate House

Address: Golden Gate House, Barrack Street, | Kinsale, Co. Cork, Kinsale, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Gate House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.