We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Love Love!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kilcaw House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinsale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kilcaw House
Save
You added Kilcaw House to your Saves list
Pewter Hole Cross, Kinsale, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 53 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Love Love Love!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The directions for the B&B are perfect, follow them and you will find it! Upon arrival we automatically felt at home. The welcoming was warm and check-in quick. We were given great recommendations and made us feel really comfortable.

The rooms were nice and big, the beds were comfortable. We had to leave very early in the morning (3am) and they were very helpful with the early checkout (allowing us to keep snacks in the fridge for our early morning drive).

The hotel is a bit from town (which they are very open about). We did walk once, but I wouldn't recommend it (no sidewalk for about a mile, somewhat dangerous).

Would 100% stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    19
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lucca, Italy
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Kilcaw House in Kinsale, Ireland (Cork County) is a very welcoming place to overnight for a couple of days. You are treated like family, only better, especially at breakfast where you have a choice of 4 or 5 meals especially prepared for you. After two days we felt as though we had known Christine for a long time. She gave us 'places to go and see' throughout Ireland during our week trip.

The location is perfect for touring in Southern Ireland. We will definitely stay there again when we return to Ireland. jr

Room Tip: All the rooms are about the same size so it doesn't matter what room you receive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is a very nice B&B situated 2-3 Km outside of Kinsale. It is less than 5 min drive to town. The rooms and shower were very clean though not very big. Breakfast was delicious and the owners were very nice and friendly. I would definitely recommend this B&B to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This charming B&B is just perfect in every way. The proprietor, Christine, is so very pleasant and there's not a speck of dirt to be found. It's just a hop to town. The breakfast was excellent. we loved it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We were greeted by Chris, the owner, with open arms and a warm smile. The rooms were spotless and inviting with a bathroom and tea kettle in the rooms. Breakfast was delicious and included in the price of the room. If you are looking for a peaceful place to stay just out of town (3 minute cab ride for around 5-6 euros) this is the place. I hope to return to Ireland one day and Kinsale will be a must stop...and the Kilcaw House will be the place I'll stay. Excellent all around!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Recently stayed in Kilcaw house and it ticked all the boxes in terms of B and B . Room was grand , clean and comfortable and breakfast was lovely. We prefer to stay in such places where you get personal service from such friendly and helpful people like Christina , this is sometimes missing in bigger hotels. The I enjoyed sitting out one afternoon when the sun shined. We had only 2 complaints which we shared with our host on leaving , the curtains were very light and where our room was situated , the rising sun flooded in , making the room very bright for light sleepers. Also the house is situated on a very busy road which only had pavement for part of the way . We walked down to Kinsale and back on a few occasions but then got cabs after that because the road was so dangerous .Defo not a walk for those with children or if there is a gang of more than 2 ! We prefered to leave our motorbike at the house so that we could both have a drink and a nice meal out of the bike gear at night, however if we had the car we would probably have driven the 3-4 minutes into town ! That said, Christina repeatedly offered to drive us down to the town each evening but we declined since she appeared busy and the cabs were cheap enough really.
we would defo stay again if we visit Kinsale but would leave the bike at home perhaps next time !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stopped by on the off chance a little late, just as Christina was off out for a family meal. She put it all on hold to make us welcome into her home. And home it certainly seamed like. Absolutely spotlessly clean and a gorgeous home in lovely gardens. Nothing seemed too much trouble for her. It made our first night in Ireland so much better and a certain relief for us as we had not booked anything before we arrived. Next time in Kinsale, we would deffinately stay there again. Beds were lovely and comfortable, breakfast fantastic choice and hospitality exceptional.
Plenty of eating and drinking establishments in Kinsale. Make this a certain stopping point for the night. Thank you so much Christina

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kilcaw House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilcaw House

Address: Pewter Hole Cross, Kinsale, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Kilcaw Hotel Kinsale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilcaw House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.