We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character & comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Presbytery

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinsale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Presbytery
Save
You added The Old Presbytery to your Saves list
Cork St, Kinsale, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 53 Kinsale B&B and Inns
McAllen, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Character & comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The service here is attentive without being in your face. You instantly feel welcome. At check-in we were provided with suggestions for activities and restaurants which were all great. Someone was always available at the desk as we came and went. The decor is Victorian cozy. The room was thoughtfully outfitted with everything needed to make your stay comfortable. Bath had both a jacuzzi tub and separate shower stall. Complimentary tea with a good selection of sweets was available from 2-8. Breakfast was one of the best we had with the most choices. Location was within walking distance of everything we wanted to do. Off street parking provided.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    63
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
92
283
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The Old Presbytery is one of those places you find and want to keep to yourself. The family who run it are friendly and can't do enough to make your holiday better. The rooms are full of luxury - beds comfy with top quality bedding, towels large and fluffy - everything first rate. The breakfasts are especially yummy, with that little touch of excellence one would expect in a 5 star accommodation. Would highly recommend this place if I wanted to share it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We arrived in Kinsale late one day during our honeymoon visit to Ireland...and hoped to get a room at the Old Presbytery. Unfortunately, there were no rooms in the inn....however Noreen took time to phone around town and help us find a room for the night. Such hospitality and kindness is a huge testimony to the quality of service provided at the Old Presbytery. Hopefully we will get to stay there in the future. Thank you!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Acre, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This place has nearly 280 5 star reviews at the time of writing. Although quite a bit more expensive than the basic B and B the charges were reasonable as this is a cut above most B & Bs. Very friendly and the level of decor and service and standard of rooms was excellent. Another 5 stars!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We read about this B&B in Rick Steves' Travel Guide (which, by the way, is outstanding and will not steer you wrong!). Everything about our stay here was top notch. Breakfast was beyond fantastic -- I think we all gained weight while we were there -- it was tough not to over indulge in the delicious breakfast options. And for those of you with gluten issues, they can accommodate. You will also find coffee, tea and pastries laid out during the day should you stop back in to drop things in your room and find yourself needing a quick pick-me-up. There is a lovely sitting area to just "be" and they have a lending library for both books and DVDs. the entire establishment is well appointed and well kept. Start to finish our stay was perfect. We cannot wait to go back. And when we do, we'll be staying here again.

Side note: Don't forget to take the beautiful walk over to Charles Fort!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millstadt, Il USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is truly a luxury bed and breakfast. Spotlessly clean and beatifully decorated. Tea every afternoon. The family's dog Scampi is wonderful. The staff will assist with reservations for restaurants and activities.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, TN
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Lovely antique furniture, fresh flowers everywhere, smiles on all the faces of the family and staff, helpful travel hints and afternoon tea...these are only some of the things that make the Old Presbytery the best B&B we've experienced. The place is spotless, as are the linens on each table in the small breakfast/tea room. The breakfast buffet of fresh, homebaked breads and scones (and muffins and cakes for tea), a huge bowl of diced fresh fruits, Muesli yogurt, dry cereals, jams, and spreads is enough to take one to tea time. But wait: there's more! A breakfast menu of fresh, free range eggs in different styles, bacon, smoked salmon,bagels, a fruit crepe...all served immediately on warm plates. We wondered how Phil gets everyone served so quickly. What a lovely experience it is to stay at the Old Presbytery right in the center of Kinsale!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Presbytery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Presbytery

Address: Cork St, Kinsale, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The Old Presbytery Hotel Kinsale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Presbytery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.