We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Presbytery

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinsale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Presbytery
Save
You added The Old Presbytery to your Saves list
Cork St, Kinsale, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 53 Kinsale B&B and Inns
MI, USA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Great location within walking distance to everything. On site parking (rare in Kinsale). Beautiful rooms (third floor is a hike but view is great). Very nice dining room and delicious breakfast. Noreen is helpful making dinner reservations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    63
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
92
283
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I had gone to Kinsale about 7 years ago, and the B&B we stayed at was not around anymore, so it was time to try something new. We picked this place because of the location and the reviews of breakfast, what we might have wanted to know was a little more about the rooms. We were on the 3rd floor (walk up) in a small room (not enough space to open up both suitcases.

Location-wise this is great, especially if you don't want to contend with traffic during Kinsale's busier months. We walked all over and made full use of the laocation.

Breakfast was very good, I got the crepes, and it was nice to have something different after all of the full Irishes we had.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at OP and found the parking and location great. The breakfast was one of the best we had on our 2 week vacation. Very nice staff. Helpful and knowledgeable about sites in the area. This was also one of the most expensive places on our 2 week travels of Ireland. The area may be more expensive because of demand.

Room Tip: We had lots of stairs! If you have a problem with this ask for a lower room when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed for two days in Kinsale and had a wonderful time not in small part due to our chose of B&B. ThePresbytery is located close to the harbor and all the activities. The staff/ owners were very helpful and friendly. We Loved the Irish breakfast. Check out the top room with full bath, sun room and patio. We were very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We loved our stay at this B&B in Kinsale! Noreen and her staff were very warm and friendly. We wished we had chosen to stay two nights here, instead of staying the previous night in Bantry. This B&B is in a fantastic location...short walk to everything in town! We had a wonderful room on the first floor with a nice bathroom. Shower has good water pressure. Bed was very comfortable and the room was spacious. Breakfast was terrific...cooked to order, along with a tasty assortment of cereals, fresh fruit, yogurt, jam and breads. We wanted to have a meal at Fishy Fishy, but we arrived closer to dinner time. Noreen showed us where their full-fledged restaurant is located, so we were able to enjoy an excellent dinner. Our Frommer's guide book had old information indicating that one could only have lunch at Fishy Fishy. Guess they became so popular that they opened a full restaurant, in addition to their lunch spot.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We chose the Old Presbytery because as much as we love the quaint feels of a B&B, we’re not extremely sociable at 8:30 in the morning and don’t really enjoy “bonding over breakfast!” The OP is homey and cozy but still feels like you are away on vacation – not staying in someone’s home. I realize most people seek out a true B&B experience, but this was the perfect middle ground for my husband and I.

The innkeeper was welcoming, accommodating and an excellent cook. We enjoyed our breakfast every morning at our table for two while we planned our sightseeing in Kinsale.

Our room was one of our favorites on our entire Ireland adventure. It had a balcony that overlooked the town and was generously sized. This room, plus the charm of Kinsale, made it our favorite stop in Ireland.

Tip: we did the walking tour recommended in Rick Steve’s book (Don & Barry) and it was a great way to get the lay of the land before heading off to explore. We loved the walk to Charles Fort and stopped at numerous pubs along the way to get sustenance and strength ;)

Room Tip: The room with the private balcony is worth the splurge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Very pleasant place to stay. Noreen and her staff make you feel very welcome and the breakfast is hearty and varied.

Like many B n Bs the walls are a thin and the streets near so noise is an issue if you are a light sleeper

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Presbytery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Presbytery

Address: Cork St, Kinsale, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The Old Presbytery Hotel Kinsale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Presbytery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.