We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant stay at the Actons Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Actons Hotel

Save Saved
You added Actons Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Actons Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pier Road, Kinsale, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Kinsale
Limerick
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant stay at the Actons Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We are just back from staying in the Actions on the Saturday night for one night as a party of 7 ladies. It was for my sisters hen party and I have to say we had a lovely stay here. The rooms are excellent, including the triple room which I stayed in, they are very modern and clean and comfortable. The staff were absolutely amazing and were so nice to us regardless of our request or who we were dealing with. It is so central and near to everything. The breakfast also was freshly cooked and you ordered from a menu which made a lovely change from the normal buffet breakfast. I would definitely stay here again. I had to contact the hotel several times before the weekend by email and I dealt with Declan McCarthy who was extremely helpful and courteous even though we had to change the amount of rooms and the numbers several times leading up to our stay. He never made me feel like I was being an inconvenience or a nuisance which I appreciated as it can be very frustrating when numbers change last minute. Thanks Actons hotel, we had a great time and I would highly recommend and can't wait to come back :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    137
    99
    26
    9
    3
See reviews for
40
148
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Nice hotel in pleasant location overlooking the harbour, though there is a road in front of the hotel so it was a little noisy. Room was very comfortable, service was just a bit slow in the restaurant at breakfast, and receptionist was efficient but not exactly friendly. Overall, reasonable value for money and may go back if we return to Kinsale

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nenagh, Ireland
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had originally hoped to stay for two nights but changed our minds after one. Our room was to the back of the hotel with a window that only opened a few inches. A double and a single bed were stuffed into the small room. We had to keep the blind down and curtains closed as there was a bright yellow street light straight outside our window. We didn't sleep well because the room was so stuffy. However, the bed was very comfortable with lovely white linen and fluffy pillows and a good mattress. The bar was actually the very opposite as the air conditioning was on full and the place was freezing. We met another couple who were sitting there in their jackets because of the cold. I mentioned it to a receptionist who said that it had been very warm earlier which was not true. Breakfast was very poor. At 9.30 am the meat and cheeses looked tired. the fruit salad was bland and watery. My husband choose a hot breakfast which was barely warm and very soggy (especially the hash brown), with a big pile of scrambled egg which looked and tasted as if it had been lying there for some time. A nice HOT cup of coffee or tea would have been good, but no luck there either. The cold metal tea pot was stained and dirty. The good thing was that we had made a reservation for Fishy Fishy restaurant which is practically next door and we had great food and a lovely evening.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Actons was a great place to stay for our 2 nights in Kinsale. The location can not be beat. We could park our car and walk everywhere and the harbor view is amazing. The bed was extremely comfortable and with the exception of the girl that checked us in the staff were extremely friendly. Breakfast both mornings was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Really comfortable bed, nicely decorated, scrupulously clean, smart but not snooty. Had a wonderful harbour view, strong Wi-Fi signal, fab breakfast, central to everything, friendly and helpful staff- would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Third floor at front was a lovely room with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We thoroughly enjoyed staying at Actons Hotel. From the moment you walk into the hotel, you feel welcomed and pampered. The hotel and rooms are stylish and very comfortable. The breakfast was very good. Location was great- right on the water and central to Kinsale. Our room was huge but may have been an exception as we were at the end of a hall. Our only complaint was the lack of air conditioning, but ask for a fan and it will help.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

stayed here on the 2/7/14 all i can say great staff great food and great service check in and see for yourself will not be disappointed. rooms lovely clean as a whistle. great spa and and swimming pool

Room Tip: sea view rooms look right over the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Actons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Actons Hotel

Address: Pier Road, Kinsale, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Actons Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Actons of Kinsale is situated in the heart Kinsale with its maze of narrow winding streets, interesting craft shops, cosy pubs and art galleries, many reflecting the influences of the French, Spanish and British who all played a part in the town’s chequered history. In Kinsale, you can golf, sail, fish, clay-pigeon shoot, walk, explore historic sites, visit local museums.Known for its wonderful friendly atmosphere, Actons of Kinsale is a period building of great character, splendidly overlooking Kinsale’s beautiful harbour.Actons of Kinsale have 74 en-suite bedrooms, many enjoy superb harbour views. Each room has multi-channel tv, radio, telephone, hair dryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Sidney's Bar & Brasserie serves food daily.The Health&Fitness Club boasts a 15 meter indoor heated pool, sauna, steam room, whirlpool spa, techno gym and reflexology/massage facilities. A kiddie pool keeps the younger members happy while massage jets are perfect for after a round of golf!Afull range of beauty and holistic treatments are offered by our trained therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Actons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Actons Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.