We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great breakfast !!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trident Hotel Kinsale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Trident Hotel Kinsale to your Saves list
Trident Hotel Kinsale
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   World's End, Kinsale, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Discover Kinsale Special
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Newbridge, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location, great breakfast !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed here with group of golfing buddies in April this year.
Location for town - excellent
Atmosphere - Excellent
Staff - Excellent

Rooms and overall decor is a little dated, but didnt in anyway take away form the charm of the place. At €110 for a double room including what was a super breakfast, i had no reason to complain.

Would reccomend..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear davlor1000,

Thank you for your review of the Trident Hotel.

We very much appreciate your positive comments about our location, atmosphere and of course our staff.

I am delighted that you and your golfing buddies enjoyed yourselves and appreciated the good value on offer.

We look forward to you returning soon.

Kind regards

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    199
    105
    36
    19
See reviews for
92
285
14
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Have just returned from a two night stay and in no way is this hotel a 4 star, i would love to know who gave it that rating because its nowhere near the standard of any 4 star i have stayed in previously. To say it is a poor 3 star is being generous. We were so looking forward to staying but it was such a let down. The whole hotel is in dire need of refurbishment, the rooms are completely dated with very old furniture which is scratched and marked and also a really old tv. The lampshades were old and all chipped and the curtains were too short for the window and didnt close all the way accross so the light was streaming in at 6am each morning. The bed was really squeaky and uncomfortable with a horrible blanket over a sheet which im sure is not changed after every guest (so unhygenic). The bathroom is miniscule to say the least, very claustraphobic. The walls are paper thin between each room and we could hear the conversations going on either side of us and unfortunately for us we were woken both nights by the noise of the people next door coming in at 4am & 6am respectively. I tried calling down to reception at 6am this morning to see if something could be done but no-one answered. I would have explained this upon check out but we werent even asked if we had enjoyed our stay. The lady on recption was rude to say to least this morning as there was an issue with our bill, we were doubled charged for our diiner on friday night. The only plus to this hotel is breakfast is very good as it is cooked to order and the breakfast ladies were very polite and welcoming as well as extremenly hard working. We ate in the bar on friday night as the restaurant was not open due to a private function which i also find very strange for a 4 star hotel that they could not accomodate ppl staying in the hotel. Service in the bar was very poor, we were left waiting for 20 mins before we could order and then had to wait 25 mins for our starters. The food was very average.

Also they are advertised with wifi connection in each bedroom - this is not the case, the only place we could get coverage was in the lounge downstairs

I would never stay in this hotel again, and would not reccomend it anyone either - they should not be advertising themselves as a four star hotel when it clearly does not come close.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear AMK 1981,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Trident Hotel.

I am sorry that your stay was so disappointing. It was unfortunate that so many issues seemed to have occurred during your stay, for which I apologise.

I am pleased that you found our cooked breakfast and staff satisfactory.

Free WiFi is available throughout all the public areas of the hotel - as advertised, and is available in most rooms. Wired broadband is available in all rooms.

Thank you for your candid comments.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel is located on the marina of the beautiful town of Kinsale. The room had beautiful view of the marina. It was quite small and dated and would have been nice to have bath (just shower in bathroom). The bathroom and bedroom were very clean. The bed was so comfortable. There was lovely relaxing lounge overlooking the marina. Breakfast was served in lovely restaurant with terrific view and was lovely. Staff serving breakfast were so nice and helpful. I will be returning here soon for its friendly staff, location and value. The leisure centre is located up the road in the grounds of another hotel which I thought was quite awkward so did not use.

To summarise - lovely hotel except rooms require updating and quite small.

Room Tip: Ask for room with marina view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Eleanor K,

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to the Trident Hotel.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the breakfast and staff and location to your liking.

We have replaced the baths in many of our bedrooms with strong showers but we do have baths in the majority of our rooms, so please ask the next time.

We look forward to having you back soon.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Very nice hotel with a stunning sea view over the port of Kinsale.
Top class service and hospitality, excellent hotel bar and restaurant.
The town of Kinsale has a lot to offer, really picturesque sea side town in the south of Ireland. Very much worth a visit.
HSH Prince Leopold Donchield Zu Leone II, Sierra Leone

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Prince Leopold,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit to the Trident Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you found top class service and hospitality in a picturesque setting.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY Grandma
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Trident Hotel is in a perfect location on the harbor in Kinsale, Ireland. Overall, the hotel could use a bit of renovation, but was perfectly adequate. Admittedly, the 1st room we were given was quite noisy, with only a very tiny view of the harbor, and mostly of the street, houses, and car park behind the building, but I asked, and we were moved to a different room with a much better harbor view. The rooms and corridors need new carpet, but they appeared clean and fresh, just worn. Lunch and dinner in the Wharf Tavern were very good, and the breakfast buffet served in the Pier One Restaurant was tasty, too. The views from Pier One were spectacular. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. On the downside, the hotel is advertised as a 4-star, luxury hotel, with free Internet service in every bedroom, but I think it only rates 3 stars, due to condition, and our only reliable Internet service was found in the lounge, or on the patio outside the lounge (rather chilly in early April!). As we went in search of Internet service one evening, we encountered another couple we'd met earlier...and they, too, were searching for WiFi because it wasn't available in their room either.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a room away from the back street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear grandmamce,

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to the Trident Hotel.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our harbour side location. I am glad that the staff were able to help by changing your room from a river view to a harbour view.

Thank you for your kind comments about our staff. I am sorry that you encountered problems with the WiFi which is available, free of charge, in all public areas and most of our bedrooms.

We have an ongoing refurbishment programme and I can confirm that we do comply with all requirements for our 4* rating.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Trident Hotel and Kinsale in the near future.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I have stayed several times in Kinsale and this was my first time to stay in the Trident Hotel. The Trident Hotel is one of those wonderful hotels that remains utterly professional and attentive but with warmth and friendlessness that made my Weekend one to remember. I arrived late Friday nite to be greated with a lovely toastie that was no trouble whatsoever, Saturday I enjoyed a lovely brunch in the Bar, while I was there, I could overhear the staff letting fellow guests know there was a Chowder Festival on in the town so they could attend while they were visiting. From Housekeeping, to Reception staff, to Bar Staff, to the Nite Porter, to the Chef I commend you all for such a wonderful job. Oh and the View in the Suite is'nt half bad either. Thanks again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear keentraveller68,

Thank you for your very positive review of the Trident Hotel.

"Wonderful in every way" is a superb accolade, thank you - I think we will have to put you on our marketing staff!

We very much appreciate your kind comments and particularly that you remembered members of staff for some of the smaller things that matter, and the people behind the scenes who are sometimes forgotten. It is also sometimes forgotten that there are real people behind both positive and negative experiences - thank you.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Trident Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed here with my husband to celebrate my mums 50th in Kinsale. The hotel is located in a lovely area only a 5-7 minute walk from Kinsale town. We had a lovely big room with a view of the Marina and boats. My only issue with the room would be that the decor and furniture needs updating. The view from the room makes up for this issue though. The breakfast was very nice plenty of choice but I was a bit annoyed with the staff because we were a big group and wanted to have breakfast together and instead the waitress made us squash on to a small table and not everyone could fit so we were separated and there was a big table available. But overall would recommend this hotel to friends and would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear ScientistIreland,

Thank you for your positive review of your recent stay at the Trident Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you got pleasure from our location both over the water and near the town.

I'm sorry that there was a mix-up with your breakfast table but hopefully it didn't take from your experience.

I hope you will be back soon.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Trident Hotel Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trident Hotel Kinsale

Address: World's End, Kinsale, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trident Hotel Kinsale 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four star hotel, spectacularly perched on the water's edge overlooking Kinsale Harbour. The hotel has 75 bedrooms including an Executive Wing comprising 30 rooms and 9 luxury suites, all with beautiful sea views. Only five minutes’ walk from the centre of Kinsale, the Trident Hotel is an excellent base to explore the winding streets and many shops, cafes, galleries and restaurants for which Kinsale is famous for. While you’re here, why not delve into the town’s fascinating historic past with a guided walking tour to famous sights including Charles Fort or engage in the wide variety of activities available from deep-sea fishing to scenic harbour cruising. Or use Kinsale as your base for exploring the wider West Cork region, renowned for its rugged landscape, unspoiled coastline and bustling towns. For shopaholics, Cork City is just a 30-minute drive from Kinsale. With a host of attractions and leisure activities on the doorstep – including the world-renowned Old Head Golf Links – the Trident Hotel Kinsale is certainly an ideal venue for both business and pleasure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Trident Hotel Kinsale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trident Hotel Kinsale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.