We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay in Blue Haven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Haven Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Blue Haven Hotel to your Saves list
Blue Haven Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3/4 Pearse Street, Kinsale, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spring Special Offer
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Co. Waterford
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in Blue Haven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed in this lovely hotel in Kinsale for two nights recently. We were greeted by a very friendly receptionist . Her name was Madalene. We were upgraded to their best room as we were celebrating an Anniversary. We had a very lovely meal in the Blue Haven Bistro that night and was given a Port on the house! Breakfast was really very good with a great selection of both hot and cold food available. All together a lovely experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    136
    56
    20
    9
See reviews for
52
214
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cork
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Just returned from a beautiful stay at the blue haven hotel.
We had a warm reception when booking in and this carried onto our meal in the Fishmarket restaurant later that night..
Looking forward to returning very soon.
The Dunlea family cork=)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rocky hill, CT USA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We had a wonderful dinner in the Blue Haven Bistro.... The decor is simple, resembling the interior of a ship in a very subtle way. Our server was attentive without being cloying. The mussels were tiny and tender swimming in a yummy broth. My husbands salmon was well prepared and presented, and my Hake was perfectly seasoned and cooked, and of course, absolutely fresh!
In Kinsale, a real "foodie" town, visitors are spoilt for choice, and we are glad we chose The Bistro at the Blue Haven Hotel.
Well done!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a long weekend break. Great staff, superb breakfasts, comfortable bar with good entertainment but the plumbing isn't great. We had a cold room and a scalding shower. Otherwise would recommend it.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here while attending a wedding in Kinsale. We cannot recommend it enough. The rooms were super comfortable and clean. The bar had a really cozy atmosphere and the food was excellent. Breakfast which was included was really good and the staff were all really helpful and friendly. The only downside was on street parking but it definitely didn't take away from our stay. Would really recommend this hotel for a stay in the beautiful Kinsale.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

This hotel has many good facilities but business users should be aware that it seems to be primarily a tourist and holiday resort. I stayed on a midweek night and was kept awake by live music in the bar until nearly midnight. This seems to take place 7 nights a week. In addition I was woken at 5am by delivery lorries at the supermarket opposite. Not what you want after a hard days work, or if you have an early start.

Room Tip: Higher rooms at opposite side to bar area
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We were passing through and needed somewhere to eat on a windy Sunday lunchtime. The Blue Haven restaurant and bar were full but staff opened up another area and made the seven of us comfortable. Drinks were ordered and arrived quickly and similarly there was very little delay in fulfilling the food orders. The quality and portions were excellent. I can't comment on the hotel but I'd guess it must be as good as the restaurant and bar.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Haven Hotel

Address: 3/4 Pearse Street, Kinsale, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kinsale
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Haven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury boutique style hotel located in the heart of Kinsale, the Blue Haven graciously combines the charm of old Kinsale with the modern luxuries of today. Each room is individually furnished with exquisite furniture, luxury pocket sprung beds, plasma tvs and finer touches to make each room unique. With a reputation as excellent food, friendly personal service and meticulous attention to detail, each visit is a special one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Blue Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Haven

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Haven Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.