We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant, great value on an offer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Blue Haven Hotel to your Saves list
Blue Haven Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3/4 Pearse Street, Kinsale, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spring Special Offer
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ireland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Very pleasant, great value on an offer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We came here on an overnight that we got on special, at an almost unbelievably good rate. I was a little worried that it might fall into the "too good to be true" bracket, but it didnt.

We arrived at night, found it easily, and reception was small but the receptionist was friendly and had everything ready. The room was up one flight (no lift that I noticed) and was perfectly fine, maybe one step on the shabby side of very good. It had everything one might expect, and a very good shower, with toiletries my other half was very complimentary about.

The sleep quality was very good. The breakfast, however, was something to write home about. Fantastic stuff, and lots of it. A particular highlight was some kind of sticky pumpkin-seed cake/bread that I think I went back twice extra for.

What we saw of this place we really liked, and will now be on the lookout for repeat offers. If you get a good value offer, take the chance on this place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    136
    56
    20
    9
See reviews for
52
214
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This cosy hotel exudes charm, warmth and coziness. Loved the compact rooms and reception area. Staff were helpful and friendly. Food was lovely, especially enjoyed their chowder. Good entertainment in the bar, plenty of people including locals eating and drinking there which suggests satisfaction and value to me. Breakfast is good and varied. Rooms cleaned and sheets changed daily on a 2 night stay which I thought was above and beyond service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

yes folks i found a gem of a hotel we weare there for three wondwrful nights from 29 of dec to 1st of jan, the moment we arrived with my wife margaret at this hotel we were met with a warm welcome and i would like to thank all of the staff for makimg this short break so spical, and the food was wery good the entertainmemt was brilent each night so thank you all at the blue heavan and we will be back soon jim margaret lawlor

Room Tip: only has 17 bed rooms all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Clare
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Just returned last week from a 2 night break at the blue haven. I must say it was really relaxing and enjoyable. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. They are really wonderful and helpful. Booked for 1 night with booking.com and stayed a 2nd it was so nice. The food was super, they also have a little tapas bar in the town think it was called aperitif cant remember but that was also excellent quality food and service. These people sure know how to please will be back very soon again. Thanks to you all.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin CA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Great room....fantastic bar and entertainment with Sonnie and Friends...the King bed was two twins pushed together and the shower kinda weird because it is a wand and not very much pressure. The location is ideal though right in the middle of town.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

This was a nice place to stay in Kinsale. Nothing fancy but the beds were comfortable and the breakfast was Grand! The hallways were slanted which made for some laughs as you walked to your room -especially after a few drinks!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Visited Kinsale on our trip around Ireland and decided to stay one night. Checked this hotel on Tripadvisor and then the best online rate. All I can say is that for €50 one night stay this hotel was the best value we encountered on our holiday. Clean room, comfortable bed, excellent location to check out the Kinsale nightlife. The restaurant attached is excellent and the staff where so helpful. Big shout out to the Australian lady working the reception desk. Great customer care and so helpful with all our enquiries.

Room Tip: Ask for room not facing main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Haven Hotel

Address: 3/4 Pearse Street, Kinsale, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kinsale
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Haven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury boutique style hotel located in the heart of Kinsale, the Blue Haven graciously combines the charm of old Kinsale with the modern luxuries of today. Each room is individually furnished with exquisite furniture, luxury pocket sprung beds, plasma tvs and finer touches to make each room unique. With a reputation as excellent food, friendly personal service and meticulous attention to detail, each visit is a special one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Blue Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Haven

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Haven Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.