We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A family friendly B&B that you and your kids will remember forever.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ard Na Greine

Save Saved
You added Ard Na Greine to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ard Na Greine
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Ballinascarthy, Clonakilty, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Clonakilty B&B and Inns
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A family friendly B&B that you and your kids will remember forever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

We just came back from a wonderful 3-day stay at Ard Na Greine farmhouse. Our kids (aged 3 and 5) are still talking about the new born calf they saw and all the cows and other glimpses of farm life. The house is located a few miles outside of town, but really gives a great view and perspective of the working farms in the area, and the beautiful landscape in the region. The experience was even better because we slept in later and were able to wake up to a fantastic meal with more good, home-cooked food than we choose from. The "irish breakfast" and fresh scones were great.
Even more important to us though, was having a place our small kids were welcome, and giving them something different on our irish vacation. Norma and Donnie, and even the other guests were just great and we enjoyed the chance to sit around the table with all of them.
We barely had enough time to see all the region has to offer and hope to return again someday soon. If we do, we will be sure to stop again at Ard Na Greine!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
18
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

Norma Walsh made us feel like family. She was sensitive to the needs of my mom who has a wheat and dairy allergy. Not many bed and breakfasts serve evening meals but Ard Na Greine does! Norma offers quite a bit of choice and she aims to please!! Three courses are offered every night and don't turn down her Irish coffee! If you walk away from Norma's table hungry, it is simply your own fault! The food is delicious and is great value for the money. Most mornings you awake to Norma baking fresh biscuits. She also loves to send you on your way with biscuits in case you need a snack on your days' journey. She is a treasure. Do yourself a favor and stay at Ard Na Greine! Norma also gives great directions and can set you up for a lovely day of touring!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

If you can't find another reason to visit Ireland, A stay at Ard Na Greine in Ballinascarthy, near Clonakilty in County Cork is reason enough! This beautifully situated B&B in the heart of West Cork's farming country provides more than an overnite stay - it is an experience!

The rooms are bright, inviting and immaculate, and Norma Walsh's hospitality, cooking and understanding of the traveler will enhance your visit beyond your expectations. From the welcome pot of tea with scones covered in cream and homemade jam, to her knowledgeable suggestions and tips for exploring this rich and fascinating area, you will be delighted. Be sure to plan for your evening meals at Ard Na Greine - the generous and perfectly prepared meals served in the inviting dining room are wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

Ard Na Grene is a farmhouse in the beautiful Clonakilty countryside. The food and care given to visitors by the proprietor Mrs. Walsh is superb and unequal to all others. i would highly recommend this B & B as would my travel companion.

Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockford,il
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

Norma is a gracious host ,cooks a great breakfast,and the dinner should not be missed. A clean,spacious,quiet, and comfortable room and bathroom. One, if not, the best b&b on our 2 week trip.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

Norma Walsh runs the best farmhouse accommodation in Ireland. The food is fantastic, the welcome, extremely warm, and the scones are the best we have ever had. The breakfast is simply amazing and after you have finished you won't need lunch.

This is our fourth stay now and we would not go anywhere else. Norma treats us like family and that is how we feel. Norma also knows everyone in the area and is the perfect host. Her cooking is simply divine and we could not recommend a better place to stay.

This is a working farm so the milk is always fresh and there is always a pot of tea on the go. Nothing is too much trouble here and you simply don't want to leave at the end of your stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

My husband and I had the good fortune to book a 3-night B&B stay at Ard Na Greine
in June.

On arrival we were greeted with freshly baked scones and great freshly brewed coffee - our choice which we prefer to tea. The host, Norma Walsh, could not have been more accommodating. She is one of the few B & B establishments which offer an evening meal too and after long drives each day it was wonderful to come home and relax.

As we had been travelling for a while, home cooked meals were a special treat.
As were the delicious desserts and Irish coffee to finish off the meals.

Each morning freshly baked Irish soda bread and scones welcomed us and we were given scones for our lunch too.

Norma went out of her way to spend time with us each morning and gave us EXACT road instructions and recommendations on what to see.

On our last morning we left with a recipe to make the wonderful soda bread, a packet of oats to see if we could get Flanagans in Canada and, of course, loads of freshly baked scones for our trip.

It was a very special experience from a hostess with the mostest who really enjoys running a B&B and it really shows! We would highly recommend staying with Norma if you are after a farm experience.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ard Na Greine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ard Na Greine

Address: Ballinascarthy, Clonakilty, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Clonakilty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ard Na Greine 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Ard Na Greine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ard Na Greine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.