We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ard Na Greine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ard Na Greine to your Saves list
Ard Na Greine
Ballinascarthy, Clonakilty, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 Clonakilty B&B and Inns
Braintree, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

One of the best B&B's we have stayed in. Norma is a most welcoming host and really could not do enough for her guests supported by her team of two smiling girls and the unique welcome by Benson the dog who led us from the car into the house. We stayed for 2 nights and left feeling like we had been with staying with old friends. Norma is a fountain of knowledge and was more than happy to suggest places to visit all around the area and always took time to chat and enquire about your day. Breakfast was lovely and fresh scones and cuppas were in abundance. Her house was warm, welcoming and comfortable and we hope to return again in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
21
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed with Norma one night in May of this year. We were so lucky she had room. We were visiting Kinsale and Clonakilty and were a little slack booking ahead. One B&B owners called another and we eventually got Norma's number. We lucked out. She met us up the road so we could follow her to her place as it was quite late. Then she made us fresh pot of tea with scones before heading to bed. Lovely big room. Immaculate and very good mattress. Great generous breakfast the next day. The best thing was Norma. She was really lovely and interesting AND she gave us tips for places to see as we headed out to the West Cork coast that even my native Irish husband wasn't familiar with including St. Finnbarr's Church. Thank you Norma!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Wish we could have stayed longer in this peaceful part of the world.
Rooms huge and well appointed
Wonderful welcome with refreshments on our arrival
Sorry we couldn't have sampled Norma's dinner, the breakfast was delicious

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Our 2 night stay could not have been better. We had a warm welcome and our hostess could not have been more helpful with suggestions for our enjoyment of the area and routes to take to our next stop. We particularly enjoyed the opprtunity of partaking of her excellent cooking when she prepared dinner for one evening of our stay. The chance to eat "at Home' instead of having to go out and search for a suitable restaurant was a real treat. We spent three weeks in Ireland and this was the only B & B which offered an evening meal - and her Irish breakfast was also something to write home about.

Thank you, Norma, for a wonderful stay.

P.S. We managed to find our way to Mount Malory Abbey - well worth the visit!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Eating out all the time while travelling can put the pounds on so to have a wonderful dinner at a farmhouse B & B was a treat! The traditional famer's wife, Norma Walsh's cooking is truly worth raving about -- not simply the familiar full Irish breakfast but the evident care she takes in preparing food as exemplified by the way she served our fish course at dinner. Ooh, la la!

We stayed at several farm B & Bs -- all great -- but this was the only one that offered dinners -- and what a dinner, complete with Irish coffee! Don't miss this opportunity if you're looking for a place to stay in the Cork area since in all other respects, this is an A-1 establishment.

John Roe, Ontario, Canada

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naaldwijk
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

What a wonderful B&B, lovely house, nice rooms, beautiful view and food .Norma serves perfect breakfast, but also a very good dinner. Perfect for visiting Cork and Kerry. Ypu can ask for any tips on your trips, she will help you find your way in beautiful Ireland.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Silver, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We just got back from Ireland and my third trip to Ard Na Greine which as usual didn't disappoint. The welcome mat is always open at this b&b set on a dairy farm in West Cork. Rooms are large, comfortable and clean. The owner, Norma, doesn't scrimp on breakfasts- with the full traditional Irish breakfast all cooked to order and delicious as well as cereals, yoghurts and fruit. And there's always a hot scone with butter waiting for you any time of day. I am sure this won't be our last trip to Ard Na Greine

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ard Na Greine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ard Na Greine

Address: Ballinascarthy, Clonakilty, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Clonakilty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ard Na Greine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ard Na Greine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.