We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous guesthouse with really lovely owners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of An Garran Coir

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added An Garran Coir to your Saves list
An Garran Coir
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Rathbarry/Castlefreke, Clonakilty, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 15 Clonakilty B&B and Inns
Midlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous guesthouse with really lovely owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

This was a great find about 15mins drive from Clonakilty, west Cork. It was a lovely stay in such a very kept older house..with magnificant views and lovely people. I would definitely recommend to anyone again.thanks!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

Visiting Ireland in winter could be considered as rather weird but meeting people over there makes up for all the filthy weather you will experience. An Garran Coir was one of the best legs of our February trip and Michael and Jo took great care of us. Breakfast is second to none and will keep your hunger away at least till dinner. Spotless rooms, very nice bathrooms and quite comfortable beds. Our only regret is that we did not have time to taste Jo's cooking as she is reknowed to be a great cook. Maybe next time as we definitely have to come back.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayern
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

I celebrated my birthday here at this lovely place in november 2009. Usually november is not the main traveling
season, but this doesn't matter for me. Some people may cry about the weather in Ireland, but it was o.k. for us.
We rent a car at Cork Airport and found An Garran Coir easy via GPS \ Sat Nav.
In agreement with the owners, Jo and Michael Calnan, I release the GPS coordinates in this ranking description:
the coordinates are: N51 35.100 W8 58.174.
I dont like crowded cities like in Germany (my homeland), so An Garran Coir is a good countryside located place. Some bigger
cities with shops are nearly An Garran Coir, reachable in a few kilometers drive by car.
The house and the rooms are very nice and cultivated. The breakfast was PERFECT (many options) !!! and the owners very friendly.
I can give the best introduction for this B&B. The room and useable house configuration was: TV, Jacuzzi, water boiler for
tea, great bed, powerful heaters, breakfast room with a very big window, relaxing room with open fire, parking place right in front of the house.
I visited Ireland for the second time and I am shure, I will come back again with the motorbike !!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brabant
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

Reading the reviews here, we smiled at home but when we got there...in the middle of nothing...Clonakilty was either not the place to be in the evening. Many shops and bars (due to the recessions I think) were closed. It also kept raining, maybe that's the reason we've stayed more in the BB during the day. A child (not from tourists, because we were the only ones there at the time) screemed and cryed for a long time in the house (???) The positive things were the spacious room and bathroom (good shower with jacuzzi). But not a tasteful house, no elegance..and the tennis accommodation was so old that plants were growing in the gravel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

It was about 2 years since we stayed and I meant to do a review but better late than never. This is a modern well kept home with beautiful views if the weather had been better! The only thing against it and it is not a problem really was that the jaccuzzi part of the bath in our ensuite wasn't working. And there wasn't much tv channels either but we were there to see the sights so that really doesn't count. We had thought is was nearer a village or town, but it is out in the middle of the countryside so there is no local pub to walk to which was a downside but the property itself was very clean and well maintained.

It has a lovely garden and even private tennis court should you wish to work up an appetite for the lovely breakfast which was set out in a lovely dinning room like a top notch hotel. The pancakes were supreme!

It was great value for money, the room was massive for a B & B and so was the ensuite, with it's own full size window, you normally get a dark poky windowless ensuite in B & Bs and hotels, not here, bright, airy, clean, modern with fluffy towels.

We were greeted by the man of the house who was a very friendly chatting fellow and he even offered to carry our bags to our room, even though he was older than my partner! They have lots of leaflets and tourist information available to their guest and they even have binoculars in the guest lounge for you to view the countryside. Every little detail thought of.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

My son and I stayed at the An Garran Coir for ten days and we enjoyed every one of them. The place reflected the friendliness and warmth of its owners in every detail. The surroundings were perfect for families with children. The landscape looked like taken directly from an irish picturebook.
Our room was comfortable, clean and very cosy. Sitting in the comfortable chairs and having tea in the evening was the perfect ending to our days. Adapters for central-european electrical plugs were provided.
The irish breakfast was delicious and kept our hunger away easily until 5 o'clock in the afternoon. Try to have an evening meal at the hotel at least once. The landlady is a great chef and the vegetables are usually homegrown.
The guarded Inchydony beach is about 7 km away and also features an inexpensive hotel restaurant. There are other beaches nearer to the hotel, which are not guarded and more quiet.

  • Stayed July 2005, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2006

This award winning farmhouse was one of our favorite B&B's during our 3 week vacation! Located in the rolling farmhills west of Clonakilty, this B&B had panaromic views of farms and is minutes from powdery sand beaches. This was the most amazing breakfast...we actually had eggs benedict instead of the typical Irish breakfast (although that is available from the vast breakfast menu). What a peaceful place to stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to An Garran Coir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Garran Coir

Address: Rathbarry/Castlefreke, Clonakilty, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Clonakilty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — An Garran Coir 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your An Garran Coir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage An Garran Coir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.