We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“visit in ireland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melrose Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clonakilty
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Melrose Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Melrose Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
The Miles | Clonakilty, Co.Cork, Clonakilty, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 15 Clonakilty B&B and Inns
Bergisch Gladbach, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“visit in ireland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

from end of august until beginning of sept. we stood in clonakilty at melrose place and we had a wonderful time there - it's a very nice place with very friendly people and we always would come back and if the lord will help us we'll come back again !

Room Tip: you can always join that place !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelroseClon, Owner at Melrose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments about your stay with us , We hope you both enjoyed your time in Clonakilty and especially your stay at Melrose , It was our pleasure to have you stay and we really enjoy looking after our guests , Also thank you for the many beautiful photos which you sent on to us , We hope you will again holiday in Ireland and visit Clonakilty and choose to stay at Melrose once again , We look forward to meeting you again sometime in the future ,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reims, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Family is very welcoming; Breakfast is excellent ( you can even ordered local food , of which even salmon! ) ; Rooms are comfortable; services great .... everything for having a very comfortable and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelroseClon, Owner at Melrose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments about your stay with us , We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and especially our breakfast menu , We were only to happy to have you and hope that if you come back to Ireland again you will visit Clonakilty and stay with us at Melrose again ,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Melrose B & B was an excellent accomodation with outstanding service. Our hosts were very nice and friendly and they made us lovelyIrish breaskfasts every day. We were always met with kind treatment and the price was very reasonalbe. The only disadvantage was the loaction, about 15-20 minutes walk from the center of Cloniakilty (but it was a refreshing walk which did us good). We were 12 persons coming from Sweden to Ireland for bird watching and everyone of us felt the same - Melrose B & B is a place to which we very much want to return.

Room Tip: All rooms were excellent (we used 6 of them)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelroseClon, Owner at Melrose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Kjell , family & friends ,
Thank you so much for your kind comments about your holiday with us , Ourselves and our staff always do the best to make our guests happy during their stay , We are delighted you also found this area of West Cork to be beautiful , We hope you really enjoyed your birdwatching and got loads of beautiful photos , It was our pleasure to have you all stay and if you again come back to Ireland you will visit Clonakilty again and stay with us at Melrose ,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 5 nights at the Melrose. The room was warm and clean with an en suite and tea/coffee facilties. The breakfast was well cooked and presented with plenty of choice (I tried everything!) including local produce. Noel is a gentleman

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelroseClon, Owner at Melrose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Fergus ,
Thank you for your kind comments about our home ,We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and it is nice to get a good feedback , Also glad you enjoyed our choice of breakfast menu ,
We hope you will again choose to stay at Melrose as return guests are always very welcome ,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Staying with Chris and Noel, I felt like I was being hosted by family. They were very welcoming and went above and beyond to ensure I had a convenient and comfortable stay. I was sorry I couldn't stay longer!

The room was clean and well maintained, having been renovated recently. They provided lots of information and helpful tips about the lovely town of Clonakilty. I would stay there again in a heart beat!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelroseClon, Owner at Melrose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
We would like to thank you for your kind comments and really hope you enjoyed your trip to Ireland and especially your stay at Melrose , We always do our best to make people feel at home and it is soo nice to get such kind comments after , We hope that if you come back to Ireland you will again visit Clonakilty and decide to stay with us at Melrose again ,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

THANK YOU SOOO MUCH FOR A FANTASTIC TIME, Chris and Noel !
We have stayed twice already at this great and hospitable place.
Noel, Chris and their family are wonderful people and we have all three of us had a great time, both times (2010 and 2013).
Our daughter enjoyed it very much too as this family and place is so child-friendly and enjoyable for little ones as for older ones. Any age of people will have an excellent time in their home. They are friendly, warm and professional people who have a perfect place in regard of quality, location and friendliness. They are such helpful people who could not be more pleasant.
Whenever we go back south we will definately stay again and again with them!
Thanks for a brilliant and relaxing week this sunny irish summer from Tanja, Thierry and Aliya

Room Tip: We LOVED THE family room and slept real good. As for my comment on children activities it is not so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelroseClon, Owner at Melrose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Tanya , Theirry & Aliya ,
Thank you so much for your lovely comments , It is always a pleasure for us to have you stay ,We do our best to make all our guests feel at home and if they enjoy their stay it makes it all the more enjoyable for us ,
It is nice for us to have guests return and we look forward to meeting you all again in the future
Again thank you from Noel & Chris ,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coccaglio, Italy
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I had the good fortune to know a person like Noel. to say more, if there were to be invented! is exceptional in everything, sympathy, friendliness, warmth, keep their home perfectly and make it available to guests.
if I go to Clonakilty goes without saying that I will stay by him
thanks again, you're great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelroseClon, Owner at Melrose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Frank,
Thank you very much for your kind comments , We were delighted to have you stay with us and we try our best to treat everyone as well as possible, It is nice of you to mention coming back sometime as that is really what we like to hear ,

Do hope to see you again sometime,
Noel & Chris,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melrose Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melrose Bed & Breakfast

Address: The Miles | Clonakilty, Co.Cork, Clonakilty, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Clonakilty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melrose B&B provides 3* Bed and Breakfast accommodation in Clonakilty. Situated just 10 minutes walk from the charming West Cork town of Clonakilty, Melrose B&B is located in quiet surroundings whilst being very convenient to restaurants, pubs, tourist attractions & amenities.Melrose has private parking, gardens and patio to front and rear. Guests are welcome to use our spacious gardens, which are being re-planted with new fruit trees, berry plants and shrubs. Guests are also welcome to use our picnic area with BBQ, seats and tables and a permanent gazebo with seats, table and hammocks. An extensive breakfast menu is available & food is home-cooked, fresh & locally sourced. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melrose Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.