We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food & atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scannells

Scannells
5 Connolly Street | Clonakilty, Clonakilty, Ireland
+353 (0)23 8834116
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 37 Restaurants in Clonakilty
Price range: $8 - $17
Cuisines: Eclectic, Healthy, Gastropub, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Please note we only serve food Monday - Saturday 12:00 to 3:30 pm 4:00 on Saturdays .
Reading
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic food & atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

We attended a party held for friends, the food that was provided was superb. We had a choice of a lovely chicken curry, shepherds pie, beef stroganoff and another I have since forgotten. The outside smoking area was covered from the rain & heated. The locals in Clonakilty are some of the friendliest and nicest people I have met in a long time, with well deserved pride for their hometown. Fab place.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    9
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Many time I've had lunch.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

Really cool nice bar. Also the food is top notch for lunch. I've eaten here a lot and never been disappoint. And I'm a chef who's won many awards. I would highly highly recommend this cool joint for lunch. Bar staff very friendly. Nice relaxing gastro lunch time bar / restaurant . Will be back f or many more eats :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, Hants.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great lunch and lively atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

Had a light lunch at Scannells with friends. Great setting, lively atmosphere. We only ordered sandwiches and soup but they were beautifully prepared and tasted delicious.

I selected 'no' to the question 'is this one of the best meals..' etc. as it was only a sandwich but if I was voting for best sandwich, Scannels would win! I know they do other, more substantial meals and will definitely try some when next in the town.

Oh, and nice toilets too!

  • Visited October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

Great place to relax with your friends while having a tea or beer. Good prices and good service. Also the decoration is fine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great hangout spot, suitable for a chilled drink or a lovely night on the town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

Tried this pub 3 times while in Clon for a family get together. Lovely old fashioned and traditional decor but authentic. Very friendly and proficient staff, didn't try the food cos it's only available for lunch. Sat night it was busy as with live music in the beer garden. Great place for some genuine Irish craic!

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scannells also viewed

 

Been to Scannells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scannells, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.