We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb stay :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Clonakilty, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Clonakilty
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Superb stay :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

From the moment we drove up towards the hotel I knew we were going to be looked after very well. There was a young man directing traffic and pointing out which car park, once we parked up the view was amazing we were looking out to the beautiful sandy beaches and the blue sea and this was before we got into the hotel.

Our bags were taken off us and brought into reception while I checked in we were asked did we want a refreshment, then the porter came and took our bags and brought us to our lovely room in which our view was fabulous looking out onto the sandy beach and sea I thought I am now in paradise. There was chocolates in our room and bottled water in the fridge and even a coffee maker wow!

There was 3 of staying in the room we had 3 single beds, and lovely soft pillows and flat screen tv. The bathroom was lovely had lots of shower gels, and even bath salts along with bath ropes and slippers for each of us. Even the bath towels were proper bath towels :)

The bar food was very nice I just wish I was a lover of fish the breakfast was delightful food with everything that you could think off they had.
Once your there you have to try the island spa for a relaxation this is the place to go.
It may be a bit pricey but you do get over and above for the price you pay.

Has for the staff they treated you like royalty, I could write all night but in one you have to try this place out you will not want to leave. It is a credit to each member of staff who work there.
Thank you for a wonderful stay x

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Yvonne

Firstly, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely comprehensive review on Tripadvisor - it gave myself and the team great pleasure to read it.

I've passed on your kind words to all the team, who were delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially House Keeping, Spa and the Chefs.

I very much hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family back to Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa in the near future.

Kind regards.

Yours sincerely



Des O'Dowd
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,103
    184
    103
    45
    23
See reviews for
358
664
23
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Booked in for one night in june when working in west Cork. Great welcome at reception and room was very nice. Only negative was the bed was very soft which didnt suit me. Food in the bar was decent value & very good. Didnt get the chance to enjoy the spa which looks fab. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Luhoops

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Tripadvisor.

I was delighted you enjoyed your stay and have passed on your comments regarding your welcome to the Reception Team in particular and all the staff, who were delighted.

I very much hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa in the near future.

Kind regards.

Yours sincerely


Des O'Dowd
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limerick ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

stayed at this hotel recently and it was fantastic,from the beautiful beach to the lovely setting of the cosy bar where they serve beautiful food. the beach is great for walking ,running or whatever
takes your fancy..lovely staff and great service tops it all..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Katalyn

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read that you had a fantastic stay with us and I have passed on your kind words to all the team, especially the Chefs, who were delighted to receive such high praise.

I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Inchydoney in the near future.

Kind regards.

Yours sincerely



Des O'Dowd
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Please visit this hotel, it's really got something very special, I can't wait to return to this unique hotel, proud to be Irish when you visit such a beautiful place. Room 216 worth every penny. Food, staff, service, it's got it all and more.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Aine

Thank you very much for your kind words on Tripadvisor.

I am very proud of the hotel and the staff who work here and like you feel it is a very special place. I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Inchydoney in the near future.

Yours sincerely



Des O'Dowd
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed here on a sunny weekend in early June and it was fantastic. The setting is simply amazing - right on the beach. Wonderful for early morning runs, late evening walks or for children, surfers and all beach lovers. Our room had a balcony with a view of the beach and the sea - lovely. The second highlight of our stay was our wonderful meal in the hotel's main restaurant. We have eaten in a lot of restaurants around the world, especially in France, but this meal could equal any one of them. Compliments to the Head Chef, Adam Medcalf. The staff in the hotel were so friendly and helpful and no request was too much trouble, even down to the (very particular) way I like my breakfast coffee. Food allergies were also handled without difficulty. The views over the sea in the breakfast room just added to the enjoyment. One final thing - you have just got to try the walnut bread. We would go back just for this, even if nothing else. You just have to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Holly

Firstly, thank you very much for taking the time to write such a fabulous review on Tripadvisor.

I have passed on your kind words to all the team, but especially to Adam Medcalf and his team, who really were thrilled to be mentioned and receive such high praise. We all love the walnut bread here, so I was delighted that you enjoy it as much as we do, its very popular with our guests.

I'm glad you found the staff friendly, I really am very proud of each and every one of them, so thank you for mentioning them.

I very much hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Inchydoney in the near future.

Yours sincerely



Des O'Dowd
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This hotel is in my top two hotels in Ireland. Everything about it is fantastic. The staff, service, food, facilities, value and accomidation are all excellent. If you want a relaxing place to go then I recommend this hotel highly. I keep going back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Myles

Thank you very much for your comments on Tripadvisor.

I was especially pleased to read that Inchydoney is one of your two top hotels in Ireland.

I have passed on your kind comments to all the team, who were delighted to receive such high praise and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely


Des O'Dowd
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed for a few nights and this place is incredible. Already looking to go back later this year. Stunning location, extremely helpful staff and well priced. Great place to stay and visit the local area, Clonakilty has great bars and theres lots to do also in the surrounding area. Truly magnificent!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear thedoc342

Thank you so much for your lovely comments and taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read that you thought the location was stunning and the staff were helpful and friendly. We pride ourselves on our staff and I have passed on your kind words to all the team.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Yours sincerely


Des O'Dowd
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa

Address: Clonakilty, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Clonakilty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inchydoney Island Lodge And Spa
Inchydoney Island Hotel Clonakilty
Inchydoney Hotel
Inchydoney Spa
Hotel Inchydoney Island
Inchydoney Lodge Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.