We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great all rounder” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Richy's Bar and Bistro

Richy's Bar and Bistro
Wolfetone St, Clonakilty, Ireland
+353 23 882 1852
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 37 Restaurants in Clonakilty
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, Healthy, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Always using locally sourced produce you are gaurenteed you meal at Richys is top quality every time
Cork
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great all rounder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We were a rather large hen party and the staff were so tolerant of us and just super nice. So accommodating and helpful. The food we had was outstanding and the owner/chef thanked us before we left. The staff here stood out as being exceptionally nice. I will be going back.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lalaCork, Manager at Richy's Bar and Bistro, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
It was a pleasure helping to celebrate your hen party with us and thanksfor your for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Richys soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    53
    36
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“A special mention to super simon...'excellent dining experience'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

My friend and I were leisurely walking around on a dull overcast Sunday when we came across this little gem. We were greeted warmly by our server Simon. He was pleasant in his demeanor and we could see he enjoyed his role. Initally my friend and I thought he was owner as he was so professional. The coffees and hot chocolates were nicely presented with a nibble of cake on the side...yum yum. At 5pm we decided to have something to eat however we were concious that the establishment was closing. Simon very kindly took our order anf told us that we could stay on to eat...really how sound is that...excellent customer service if I ssy so myself!!!! The food was devine and the portions very generous. All in all a wonderful experience. Thanks Simon...you rock. We will enjoy the muffins.
Val &Elaine

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greystones, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Welcoming and helpful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Just spent an afternoon in this charming place. The staff seemed to enjoy their job and were very welcoming... had a delicious scone with beautiful cream and jam. I left my umbrella and they were so helpful when I called- even shipped it to me, no problem. Definitely recommend it!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lalaCork, Manager at Richy's Bar and Bistro, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Glad the Umbrella arrived safe and sound and yes we do love our jobs! Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to seeing you again when you return to Clon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Italian Cookery Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Myself and my girlfriend had a beautiful evening cooking in the kitchen:-)) ...we cooked and dined on high quality local produce and were a little adventurous. Richy (chef) showed that we can cook high quality food at home:-)))

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lalaCork, Manager at Richy's Bar and Bistro, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thanks James- Have you tried to recreate any of the dishes yet ? We have lots more classes planned throughout the year so please do come back and we can teach you some more ! Happy Cooking from the team at Richys !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“recent visit february 2014”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We arrived for the early bird on time on a busy sat evening, Tried to eat at the in the area which had a fireplace ,however was fully booked and shown in the lounge/type bar area (the restaurant could do with an interior designer ). Service was a bit clumsy , however food is excellent ,good variety , fresh taste . Price/ Wise medium, I would recommend this restaurant, a good alternative to inchydoney lodge & spa in this area of west cork

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Richy's Bar and Bistro also viewed

Clonakilty, County Cork
 

Been to Richy's Bar and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richy's Bar and Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.