We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Stars is just not enough ***** *” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fernhill House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Fernhill House Hotel to your Saves list
Fernhill House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fernhill, Clonakilty, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Clonakilty
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“5 Stars is just not enough ***** *”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We had our wedding in Fernhill at the start of July and I can not say enough about the spread that Fernhill put on. The hotel itself is extremely clean and the recent (2 years or so) upgrades to the gardens and builds was money well spent. You can not find a nicer setting that the marquee area and gardens. But what sets Fernhill head and shoulders above every other hotel is the top quality service they provide. They have the efficiency and performance of a top global cooperate hotel but have the added benefit of a family run hotel with extremely friendly staff.

Coming from a bar and catering family myself I always take more attention on how the service is run in hotels and bars I go visit and I have never seen an operation like this before. From the top table you could see the army of staff to come in and clear tables and again to serve the meals with in minutes. And doing it with a smile and still taking the time to chat with the guests. All our guest kept coming up telling us about how great the food and service.

We heard many story about the quality of the hotel from our guest, this is just one "At the marquee reception, one our guest went to get a drink and was ask what she wanted, she told the bar man that the only alcoholic drink she had was champagne. Said nothing else and left with her glass and later when she sat down at the dinner table the same bar man came up to her with another glass of champagne and said that he knew she wouldn't like the wine so brought her another glass." I could give you more examples of situations like this where they went the extra mile for us and our guests.

If you are reading this and thinking about booking your wedding here, don't waste time and get booking, with service like this and with the great prices they offer, they won't have many dates left. You will not be disappointed with Fernhill.

We had the best day of our lives and it is mostly down to Neil, Mike, Therese, Caroline and the great staff at Fernhill. Thank you so much. You should stand up and take a bow.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikefern, Manager at Fernhill House Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Hello,

Thank You very much for your detailed review of your wedding day here at Fernhill. It gives the whole team at Fernhill a great lift knowing that we contributed to the dig day.
Your recommendation is also greatly appreciated.
Every Best Wish for the future and we hope to see ye again soon.

Best Regards and Thanks Again

Neil O'Neill
Operations Manager
Fernhill House Hotel & Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    31
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
35
72
3
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We attended a wedding at this hotel and stayed for one night................

In the round everything was very good and I would recommend this hotel to all and sundry. Two points to note which really did not detract from the overall experience:

1. To my mind, it was a little pricey when compared to similar hotels on the continent.
2. Our room was small and the bathroom in need of a face lift.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikefern, Manager at Fernhill House Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Hello Widows_Weeds,

Thank You Very Much for your review. We always welcome feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed the wedding you attended here at Fernhill, as we would feel it is our specialty catering for weddings.
Hope to see you again soon.

Neil O'Neill
Operations Manager
Fernhill House Hotel & Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I recently attended the wedding of Antoin & Noelle on 29th June- what a fantastic day, excellent food, service, grounds fantastic. The care given to each individual table by the staff was first class. Well done Fernhill.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikefern, Manager at Fernhill House Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Hello Elma H,

Thank You for your positive review,
Attention to detail and excellent service at our weddings, particularly during the meal is most important to all the team here at the hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed the celebration of Noelle and Antoin's marriage here at the hotel.

Best Regards,

Neil O'Neill
Operations Manager
Fernhill House Hotel & Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We had our wedding on June 29th in Fernhill House Hotel. We can honestly say that Fernhill, the staff, the venue, the food, the care and attention given to us and our guests was second to none. From the moment we began planning our wedding Caroline the wedding co-ordinator and Neil were incredibly helpful. The venue itself is absolutley beautiful the gardens have fantastic photo opportunities and is kept impeccably. The marquee reception area was excellent. All our guests complimented the mojhito reception and canapes. The use of the golf buggy was not only a great novelty but helpful for older guests and all the ladies crippled from their high heels! The function room was beautifully laid out and the way the tables were arranged meant that all guests felt included in the wedding. All guests complimented the food, all courses were delicious and there were plenty of veg to go around. They also catered for our vegetarians and coeliacs. The fish and chip shop was a nice touch and enjoyed by all guests. The turnover from meal to stage for the band was seamless with little or no disruption and there was plenty of room on the dance floor as well as plenty of tables to sit at. Throughout the day all staff were extremely helpful, friendly and courteous and we were so impressed by all of them. The staff were also very obliging with the after party where we brought instruments and sang the night away. Overall Fernhill is the best wedding venue for quality service, value for money and a real personal interest in your wedding we cannot reccomment them highly enough.

Noelle and Antøin Corbett

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikefern, Manager at Fernhill House Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Hi Noelle & Antoin,

Thank You very much for taking the time to review Fernhill House Hotel and Gardens, Caroline, All my colleagues and myself were delighted to be involved in making your wedding day special. We pride ourselves on our friendliness and professionalism and its great to know we are achieving. Ye are a lovely couple and we wish ye and yere families every best wish for the future.
Hoping to see ye again soon.

Best Regards

Neil O'Neill
Operations Managaer
Fernhill House Hotel & Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

I have just returned from a 3 night stay in the Fernhill and it really was one of the most relaxing breaks that I have been on, even with 2 kids in tow on my own.
Firstly my husband could not make it due to work, when I asked to change my booking from 2 adults to 1 this was no problem...
The hotel is open, spacious, clean, staff are friendly, food is very tasty, breakfast is varied and well serviced.

Rooms were clean and spacious, beds were very comfortable.


Garden was also fab great for a ramble around with the kids. The hotel does not have much for the kids to do other than the garden but the staff are very open an friendly to the kids playing etc... Plus Clon has plenty for the kids to do...

I will definitely return...

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikefern, Manager at Fernhill House Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Hello,

Thank You very much for your review, we are delighted you and your children had a relaxing time here at Fernhill House Hotel & Gardens. We aim to ensure all our guests have a relaxing time so thank you for the feedback. Thank you also for the review of our breakfast. We pride ourselves on cooking to order. We Hope to see ye again soon,

Best Regards

Neil O'Neill
Operations Manager
Fernhill House hotel & Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We have just returned from a lovely few days at the Fernhill Hotel. I am a wheelchair user. The hotel has one wheelchair accessible room which I stayed in with my husband. There was plenty of room for me to move around in my wheelchair and the bed was raised. The room was nicely decorated and clean. The "wheelchair" bathroom was reached by going through the "normal" bathroom. There was a raised toilet and a wheelin shower area with a seat on the wall. Our daughter stayed in a family room with her two boys aged 8 and 21/2 and she was also very happy with the accommodation. There is a ramp from the entrance hall up to the reception and a lift up to the bedrooms. Most of the floors are carpeted which makes pushing hard work and there was a fire door between the lift and the bedrooms which might be difficult for a wheelchair user travelling on their own. There are plenty of parking spaces around the hotel and one dedicated wheelchair space but we never had any problem parking. In fact if its raining there is a covered area outside one of the doors where one can park and get out without getting wet. Outside the hotel there is a fabulous garden reached by a steep ramp and believe it or not the whole garden is accessible, not a step in sight. So you can wheel and enjoy the beauty of the flowers, waterfalls, marquee, its just lovely. All in all this was a lovely hotel with lovely staff and I would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikefern, Manager at Fernhill House Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Hello Ann B,

Thank You very much for your review, and staying with us at Fernhill House Hotel & Gardens,
We are delighted you and your family had a comfortable stay at the hotel. The team at the hotel really appreciate the feedback, and our gardener Patrick is particularly happy you enjoyed the gardens and found them accessible. You have given the team here a real lift.

Best Regards

Neil O'Neill
Operations Manager
Fernhill House Hotel & Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

Our daughter and her husband had there wedding reception there.We had a most wonderful day .The guests have been sending messages to compliment the staff Food.accomodation.The whole experience was amazing.Full marks to everone.Thanks for a wonderful day.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Fernhill House Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank You very much for taking the time to post this positive review,
The team here are delighted that the wedding guets enjoyed the big day and we always pride ourselves on our efficiency and friendliness for our weddings, so thank you for the full marks!!,
Much appreciated,

Best Regards
Neil O´Neill
Operations Manager
Fernhill House Hotel & Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fernhill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernhill House Hotel

Address: Fernhill, Clonakilty, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Clonakilty
#3 Business Hotel in Clonakilty
#4 Family Hotel in Clonakilty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fernhill House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fernhill House Hotel& Gardens is based on a Victorian House set on its own landscaped gardens overlooking the beautiful coutryside of West Cork. The hotel is owned by the O'Neill family, and along with their management look forward to seeing to your every need. The hotel features new rooms with each designed in a modern and unique style where attention to detail and comfort is paramount. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fernhill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernhill Hotel Clonakilty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fernhill House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.