We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly and close to town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Macliam Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Macliam Lodge to your Saves list
Macliam Lodge
Western Road, Clonakilty, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Clonakilty B&B and Inns
Ringwood, Hants.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly and close to town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I've just spent two nights at Macliam Lodge and would recommend it to other visitors to Clon. I have family there and went for the weekend. Maeve was very thoughtful and even invited my brother for breakfast! I can't see many hotels or B&Bs doing that!

Bless her, Maeve listened when I said that I like my eggs very, very well done (cremated would be an accurate description!) and although she felt a bit embarassed about doing it, the eggs were eggsactly (sorry!) the way I like them.

Will definitely go back again. Clean, great breakfast and friendly. Close enough for a nice walk into town but away from all the weekend noise.

Room Tip: My room overlooked the front, so a bit of occasional traffic, not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    13
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
31
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ibiza
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Over the years I have stayed in most of the hotel options in Clon, this one is very good value and offers a nice balance of comfort, friendliness and a good breakfast. What more do you want, when the town provides the base for the true West Cork experience. I also like their use of solar power and heat pump technology. In my opinion, the best guest house in town, and only a very short walk from everything.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We picked Clonakilty because we wanted a base to explore the area, both east and west; this was a good central place to start from. Macliam Lodge host and hostess could not have been nicer. Maeve even picked up our groceries for us and took back to Lodge so we could go on our way out of town for the day. We enjoyed our local cheeses, fresh bread and wine in the living room area later. The common rooms and bedrooms are neat, clean, attractively decorated and quiet--no views. Breakfasts were fine but nothing special; hot "Irish" cooked to order. Did have the famous "blood pudding"--try it if you dare. Would have appreciated offerings of the many local cheeses and fresh breads and scones. Maeve was very helpful with advice on local restaurants, things to see in area, directions, pubs, music, etc. We were there for Int'l Guitar Festival; great music! The walk into the town proper is only about 1/2 mile.....not far except not so great in the dark for a late return. Heat is set to come on/off certain times and we did have to ask for heat in the later evening as it was getting quite chilly; hosts very accomodating. We almost missed Inchydoney Beach which is one of the most amazing beaches ever. (Not mentioned anywhere in my research of area!) Get directions and go; but return before dark as road is narrow, long and windy.

Room Tip: Lodge on main road; you might want to get room toward rear of building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights here whilst attending a wedding in Roscarberry. Nicely located at the edge of the village but an easy walk into town. Room was good but the TV was a little small, not that we used it much. Free Wi-Fi was a great plus. Breakfast is great - go for the Full Irish breakfast - sausages and bacon are fantastic.

Only downside was that the car parking only allows for about 6 cars and one space is blocked by a tree, so one night we had to park in the street.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We had a lovely stay at Macliam Lodge in Clonakilty. Our room was really beautiful and it had everything we needed, kettle, hair-dryer etc.. The breakfast was absolutely wonderful!
Thanks for a warm welcome, we'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Wonderful B&B. Right in the centre of town yet still nice and quiet spot. The owner apologised to us for having to put us in their least fancy room, as we booked last minute and it was the only room left. I was surprised by this apology as I could not find a single fault with the room. Nice sized cosy room with a very comfy bed and a nice big bathroom.
Breakfast was lovely and served by the very friendly and welcoming owner of the house.
Will defiantly stay here again if Im staying in Colakilty again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randers
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Big place with lots of rooms. More efficient than charming. Good beds, but pillows a bit hard. Showver not to hot and hot water takes a while to appear. Good wifi. Huge selection of cerials for breakfast with fruit. Also they had cheese. The best breakfast at a b&b yet. Room smallish. Toilet door slammed into bed when opening.

A little outside town, but walking distance. Allthough not 5 minutes as they say on webpage. More like 10 minutes.

More a lodge than a B&B. If you wish it to be discrete and quiet - this is the place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Macliam Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macliam Lodge

Address: Western Road, Clonakilty, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Clonakilty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macliam Lodge is a well appointed home located in a quiet area just 5 minutes walk from the town centre. We have private parking. Our rooms are spacious and comfortable with all facilities including wireless broadband, power showers and hairdryers,T.V, Tea /Coffee. Our top priority here is looking after your needs and making your stay as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Macliam Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macliam Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.