We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not child friendly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Thanie - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Thai Thanie
17 Main Street, Midleton, Ireland
021 463 9515
Improve this listing
Price range: $35 - $141
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
cork
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“not child friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Visited last friday night and disappointed as our two kids were with us and we were told no early bird on fridays however was not told this when we booked it. No kids menu available and when i asked re half portions they dont do them. So had to order adult portions for 2 small children! Food is good but expensive!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    13
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“No loyalty to regular customers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

My hubby & I have been regular customers to Thai Thanie for their early bird & was very disappointed when they closed in Ballincollig. Travelled to Midleton & got there at 5 to 7 to be told we were too late for the "early bird" menu - which is fantastic value. They finish it at quarter to 7 so we were only 10 minutes late but no flexibility. Unfortunately we had to leave to get an Indian in town as the a la carte menu prices are really expensive. Fantastic food tho & well worth it if you have the budget. I hope to return as it is my favourite thai in Cork but after travelling it would have been nice if a little flexability was offered on a weekday night.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Dined here a couple of weeks ago, and it was fabulous again as always. Only complaint would be that the portions are absolutely massive. We had 3 courses each. Couldn't move after it but was seriously delicious. Is a bit pricey but a really nice treat. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“excellent food at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Excellent food at reasonable prices in a central location. there is a early bird menu at great value. the variety of choices is excellent. the staff are friendly and efficient. The decor is lovely .

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fresh and bright”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

The Thai dishes here are always fresh and delicious. The menu has changed recently and the quality is still very good. Try the crispy duck red thai curry with pineapple or the sizzling beef in red wine sauce. So more some. The service can be functional don't expect any real banter or engagement but it is super fast and stays open later than others nearly every night. I don't rate the wine here but that is based on only two occasions. Dessert is always second rate in these type of establishments with a limited undesirable set of options. However starters and mains should have you stuffed to the gills. Oh prawn soup was gorgeous like a Thai style chowder. The restaurant is bright and relaxing and decorated in true Thai style. A huge space which can hinter the atmosphere, never seen the entire place full. Also toilets are spotless but clinical ! All in all a good spot for the savoury food, fast service, decor, space and light!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Thanie also viewed

 
Midleton, County Cork
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Thanie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.