We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The freshest food in Midleton!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Granary Foodstore

The Granary Foodstore
6 The Square | Coach Horse Lane, Midleton, Ireland
021 4613366
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 48 Restaurants in Midleton
Price range: $2 - $12
Cuisines: Irish, Coffee Shop, Bakeries, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Located in the heart of Midleton, the Granary is a local family run café restaurant and foodstore. Come in for brunch and try our delicious pancakes or for lunch to try our award winning clonakilty black pudding salad. Sit outside in our lovely square and enjoy the sunshine and may be a cake… Our food is prepared in house using only fresh local ingredients. Service is friendly, efficient and caring, always!
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The freshest food in Midleton!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

I ate here for lunch earlier this week and as usual I was not disappointed. I had Chicken with four salads for only 7euro 50. The price was low but the quality of the food was unsurpassable. They offer a large range of fresh salads including the wonderful Broccoli, cherry tomato and feta. I am a big fan of the Cheesecake Factory salads in the US and these salads are equally delicious!
They also have a superb range of homemade cakes and desserts. If you are in Midleton I recommend you eat here, not only will you get value for money but you will get the best food in town .

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granaryjack, Owner at The Granary Foodstore, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thanks for your review - I am delighted that you enjoyed your lunch and that you found it good value for money. We look forward to seeing you in the granary again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    3
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great for lunch and breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

I go here on a weekly basis for breakfast and lunch. Great selection of soups salads and sandwiches for lunch and a great breakfast menu. Love the different variety of soups especially in the winter season with a lot of soups having a Asian theme. The breads available are also amazing so hard to get good quality bread in Ireland! Great for vegetarians too as there are loads of salad options I also love the vegetarian quiche. I would highly recommend here if you are visiting Midleton, lovely friendly staff too and quick service if you are on lunch.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granaryjack, Owner at The Granary Foodstore, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
thanks so much for your lovely review of the granary.

jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Shocking breakfast. Everything dried up and greasy plate.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

VERY disappointed. Breakfast was unpleasant today which is surprising. It appears they may have dropped the ball. Dried up Bacon sausage and pudding on greasy plate. Hard toast and over cooked eggs.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granaryjack, Owner at The Granary Foodstore, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
I am very disappointed to read your review. Our breakfasts are a customer favourite and I'm surprised that your's clearly fell well below standard. I can assure you that your next visit - if you're willing to give us another try - will be a more enjoyable one.

Jack O Sullivan
Owner of The Granary Foodstore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Friendly Service and Great Food, including Gluten-Free!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The Granary is a favourite meeting place for my family, especially for brunch on a Saturday morning. It's quite small and very busy but always welcoming. The food is all freshly prepared on the premises and is of the highest quality. I love their tomato soup! They also cater for GF needs and are helpful and willing to adapt their menu as necessary. Lovely salads, wraps, baked potatoes, fabulous choice of breakfast/brunch items, lovely coffee, and a always a friendly smile. A great place to eat, highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Favourite cafe in Midleton!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Come here often for lunch/coffee with friends. Great menu, great coffee and a friendly service! Ready meals are also great and vegetarian options are really delicious.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Granary Foodstore also viewed

Midleton, County Cork
Midleton, County Cork
 
Midleton, County Cork
 

Been to The Granary Foodstore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Granary Foodstore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.