We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Tipple” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jameson Experience

The Jameson Experience
Old Distillery Walk, Midleton, Ireland
+353 (0) 21 4613594
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$37*
and up
Ranked #1 of 16 Attractions in Midleton
Type: Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join us for a guided tour through the romantic past of Irish whiskey making, learn about the Angels Share, Triple Distillation and above all the smooth taste of Jameson Irish Whiskey. On the banks of the Dungourney River, The Old Distillery, Midleton stands. It is a distillery steeped in history, set on 15 acres; this visitor attraction is both a cultural and educational experience
Killarney, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice Tipple”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

if your in the area this is an attraction you must see. The lady that took our group around was very informative I think her name was Murphy(not a surprise) The drink at the end of the tour is a nice touch

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    125
    25
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“once in a lifetime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

i still today alk about my experiencefrom years ago. seeing the grounds of jameson. at the end they let tetors for you to decide what whiskey is better. of course its jameson!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Better than Dublin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

This is about a 25 minute drive outside cork where we stayed. Much more to see than the one in Dublin. It's an inside /outside tour so bring a jacket.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Louth, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Water of Life”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

While in Cork over the Easter weekend went to the Jameson Distillery in Midleton. Well worth the visit and the guide staff very informative. The attraction has a lot of history and anyone with an interest in Irish Whiskey, this is a must.

Would recommend not go to the restuarant, over priced and had to wait ages for food, and then it was not the best quality meat.

So go to Distillery but stay away from restaurant.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Educational, history lesson”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Had a great time, this was a different type of distillery tour from my past experiences. Started with a very informative video, which told the story of John Jameson and how he got into the whisky business. We had an excellent, friendly and knowledgeable tour guide. It was her first tour ever! The tour focused on the old distillery and the history behind how it ran, and was powered and how Jameson is/was made. The old distillery is not working, more of a museum tour. About 75% of this tour is outside, so be prepared for the weather. The tasting afterwards was fun, I got to be a tester, to compare Jameson with scotch and bourbon, side by side. This was a really fun experience. Our guide was also excellent in wrangling the many children on our tour.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Distillerynews, Manager at The Jameson Experience, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Visitor,
Thank you for posting your kind review of your recent visit to the Jameson Experience Midleton. It is great to learn that you had an enjoyable time and appreciated learning about the history and processes of Jameson Whiskey. Our guides always try to provide a fun and interactive experience for each group that visits the distillery, and we are delighted to receive your positive feedback.
We hope you continue to enjoy our whiskey,
Slainte!
The Distillery Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jameson Experience also viewed

 

Been to The Jameson Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jameson Experience, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.