We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barnabrow Country House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Barnabrow Country House to your Saves list
Barnabrow Country House
Cloyne, Midleton, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We recently got married at Barnabrow in the middle of February during a hurricane. It was fantastic! We had the use of the venue a couple of days before to set up our own additions and the staff were so accomodating and helpful as well as being very laid back and letting us get on with things. They set the perfect balance. The accommodation was gorgeous. It was warm, cozy unique and pretty. We rented 6 of the cottages on the grounds which allowed us to have a 5 day celebration. We wanted everyone in one place where we could gather, play games, set up our own bar in the cottage and have one big party with a wedding in the middle. This location was perfect! The chef, Stuart, was amazing. We had a vegetarian wedding and whether you do or don't have meat for the meal I would 100% recommend this venue. The food is always beautiful. We had an absolute ball and I wouldn't change a thing. For the kind of wedding we wanted this couldn't have been more suitable. LOVE LOVE LOVE!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    20
    4
    13
    14
See reviews for
51
30
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket-on-Fergus, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Stayed here recently for a family wedding at Ballymaloe and the location is outstanding. Sweeping views of the countryside are few and far between these days and it was pleasant to see the Cork landscape from our top floor room.

The beds are extremely comfortable with a very old world feel. This is true for the rest of the house also. It would be ideal for a corporate getaway or a getaway from metro living completely, This is due to the fact that it is near to impossible to get phone reception unless you walk a few hundred meters down the road!

Breakfast was excellent although the lack of sausages in County Cork surprised me! Overall we had a pleasant experience with very nice staff.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

On Sunday the 25th of August 2013, 90 family and friends from home and abroad enjoyed a magical drinks reception on the decking with views of Ballycotton Lighthouse in the distance. Followed by a sumptuous food to share meal a new concept at Barnabrow, everyone raved and is still raving about the quality and presentation of the food. Compliments to the chef and his team. The function room looked amazing, while staff were friendly and efficient. Those who stayed overnight enjoyed quirky and beautiful rooms. The breakfast in the morning was second to none, Fruit salads followed by Eggs Benedict was melt in your mouth. It was lovely to be greeted by friendly staff again in the morning! It was a memorable and magical occasion and I would highly recommend Barnabrow House as a venue for any function. As I am Local I can enjoy Sunday Lunch!

Room Tip: Any Room is the Main house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vejle, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

jeg har virkelig nydt mit ophold på dette fantastiske sted. det ligger ude på landet, i skøn natur, ikke langt fra den lille fiskeby Ballycotton og midleton som er kendt for Jameson Distilleriet og ikke mindst byen cork. jeg vil anbefale alle der har brug for en afslappende weekend at vælge dette sted.

I really enjoyed my stay in this fantastic house. It is located in the countryside surrounded by beautiful nature not far for a small fishing village Ballycotton, Midleton another town home to Jameson Whiskey and it is also close to Cork city. I would highly recommend anyone looking for a relaxing short break to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Stayed here on one blustery night before Christmas. There's a very well known venue down the road where we have also stayed and paid twice as much, but the quality at Barnabrow was just as good. Great room with character, enormous bed, excellent breakfast. No TV or radio in room but the wi-fi works, so bring a smartphone if you want entertainment. Was worried about staying here when came across reviews remarking about lack of cleanliness, but the place seemed very clean to us.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro Nova Scotia Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My wife and I were married in Ireland, (Coming over from Canada) August 2013. We had an amazing time at Barnabrow Country House, Staff and owner were fantastic. Our meal was excellent. As a hotelier myself I was very impressed with the help we received from here. We had done most of our organizing from Canada and we felt we were treated exceptionally from everyone here.
Would and will recommend to everyone we know.

Room Tip: Main house is amazing with old charms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

The title pretty much says it all. My wife and celebrated our wedding there recently and could not have asked for better. The views out to ballycotton are stunning and the food is just top quality. The kitchen catered for 138 people and each plate was to a standard one would expect in a small high quality restaurant. The atmosphere was relaxed and fun. We enjoyed the place to ourselves for the day/night and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barnabrow Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnabrow Country House

Address: Cloyne, Midleton, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Midleton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Midleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barnabrow Country House, dating from 1639, has been lovingly and extensively restored over the past ten years. It now proudly stands as one of the most stunning wedding venues in Munster. It sprawls over 35 acres, has 22 individually-designed bedrooms and a large medieval-style banqueting hall that seats 150 guests as well as some traditional self-catering cottages. It is relaxed and friendly and offers a truly different ambiance for celebrations that are bespoke and exclusive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Barnabrow Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnabrow Country House Hotel Midleton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barnabrow Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.