We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Sunday Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barnabrow Country House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Barnabrow Country House to your Saves list
Barnabrow Country House
Cloyne, Midleton, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Cork
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Went to Barnabrow today for Sunday Lunch, what a beautiful location to spend a sunday,...
The dining room is so full of character - the service from the staff was excellent, they were so friendly & helpful throughout the meal.
The food was absolutely excellent, i had the black pudding & feta salad for starter the sea bass for mains and Creme brûlée for dessert, every course was full of flavor and so delicious... lunch was only €25 per person which is excellent value and for this month they are doing a 3 for 2 offer..
Cant wait to make a return trip ;)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    20
    4
    13
    14
See reviews for
51
30
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Me and my wife had an excellent wedding here in October 2012. We had 60 guests for a civil ceremony and the size of the conservatory and restaurant were perfect for this number. The grounds looked amazing this time of year and made for the perfect atmosphere. We were very lucky though in that the weather was good and we were able to enjoy the deck for our champagne reception.

It was great to have the whole place to ourselves, even the day before view the set up and add personal touches.

The food was delicious and plentiful (the black pudding salad starter was roundly praised as the nicest ever by most!!!). The staff were friendly and helpful. Especially Rosita who helped us plan our day well in advance and helped things run smoothly on the day itself.

The availability of the late bar is also a very nice touch and the party continued well into the night.

The rooms were fantastic, a real nice touch and not at all like the cookie cutter type rooms you get in most other hotels.

We had an amazing wedding day, as said all of our guests, and a lot of this is down to the venue so thanks to the Barnabrow for helping to make our wedding one to remember.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We were married at Barnabrow in September 2012, We choose Barnabrow as we wanted a small intimate wedding with close family and close friends, This I'm happy to say we achieved at Barnabrow, The setting, the conservatory for the civil reception, the grounds for photos, the decking for the drinks reception and finally the reception room were all second to none, The food both presentation and taste were excellent and I cannot thank Rosita (the wedding coordinator) enough for all her help and hard work in preparing us for and then delivering on a great day.

I have no hesitation in recommending Barnabrow for a very different wediing day, The freedom of having the place to yourself is a big advantage as the late bar went on until the early hours in our case.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ger922, Owner at Barnabrow Country House, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
We are so glad that your wedding day was everything that you hoped for and that we were able to contribute to making it special.

Thank you for writing about your experience at Barnabrow House. We hope that you will be back to visit us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

We are just back from a great wedding at Barnabrow house and it was amazing. On arrival we were met by a nice girl who showed us to our room which was very nice. The wedding ceremony was very intimate in a very nice setting. We had a lovely champagne reception before heading to the dining-room for an absolutely beautiful meal the food was fab overall we had a great experience at Barnabrow house .

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ger922, Owner at Barnabrow Country House, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
I am glad that you enjoyed yourself and thank you for letting us and others know. It was quite beautiful here over the past weekend - lovely crisp autumn air but just enough heat in the sun to enjoy champagne on the deck. Combine that with the joy of a wedding, the style and the general good humour and you have magic!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Very disappointing stay. And don't complain as they don't want to know, and they have an answer for everything, making you feel totally unreasonable.

The food at the wedding was good and plentiful to be fair, but we were a bit packed in! The problem was our room, they are well below par! Our room was cold and damp, as were the sheets. They look newly decorated but on closer inspection they are a bit DIY and cheaply done, sockets hanging off the wall. We had a cold shower with a dribble of water. Outside our room the drain was overflowing.

We went to pay hoping they would acknowledge our unhappiness...not a chance, they didn't utter a word. They really didn't care! Pity with so many couples there possibly planning their wedding, very shortsighted!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ger922, Owner at Barnabrow Country House, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
While I thank you for your kind words about our food, I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. At Barnabrow we take great care and great pride in the hospitality that we offer and at all times strive for customer satisfaction. Our rooms are individually and personally designed - many of our guests enjoy their 'quirkiness'.

Your review here on Tripadvisor is the first time that I have been made aware of your complaint. Perhaps you could give me a ring and let us see if there is someway of making you feel better about your experience here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Barnabrow is a beautiful, Irish country house in rural East Cork. The high-ceilinged rooms don't have televisions or wall-to-wall carpets but are instead filled with quirky, antique furniture and shelves lined with an eclectic range of books. We spent the night having attended a wedding nearby and there was no problem about us arriving back late - the door was left open for us to let ourselves in! Breakfast was around a big, antique table decorated with heavy white napkins with fresh fruit, brown bread and jam, cereals as well as a cooked breakfast available. Some of our party arrived down to breakfast late but were accomodated with no fuss at all. I would highly recommend Barnabrow.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ger922, Owner at Barnabrow Country House, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Was at a wedding here recently and the food was a disgrace , as we were not informed of the wedding menu i had no idea what to expect, i asked was there an alternative and was told all the chicken was used up for the salad starter i was offered chicken nuggets which when i tried to eat them they were burnt too a crisp so were rock hard, the kids also had them and could not eat them for the same reason.The food was bland and of very poor quality.Our bedroom had holes in the floor which were covered by a mat we had to tell our kids to walk around the mat in case they got hurt, i was so disappointed with the whole experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ger922, Owner at Barnabrow Country House, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
I was both sorry and surprised to learn that you were so unhappy with your food experience at a wedding at Barnabrow House recently.
Had we known in advance that neither the Sea Bass nor the Roast Sirloin of Beef which the Bride and Groom chose for the menu was to your taste, we could have prepared a special dish for you - we do always ask the couple in advance if they are aware of any special dietary requirements. However as we are a specialist and private venue we do not keep food in stock that we are not anticipating using.
The reason I am surprised is because our chef, Stuart Bowes, trained for six years in a Michelin Star restaurant in Kent and prior to coming to Barnabrow cooked for the fine dining restaurant at Cork's finest 5-star hotel so the words 'a disgrace' ,which you have used, are not descriptions normally associated with his food. On the contrary it is accolades that he normally receives from our guests.
I also spoke to the waitress who served you on the evening and she was equally surprised as she was under the impression that you were very happy with the plain and freshly made chicken
goujons that were provided. I am afraid that both staff members disagree with you when you state that the goujons were burnt.
At Barnabrow, as a team we take great pride in the standard of the food that we provide. Great care is taken at all levels of preparation from purchase of the best ingredients, to the careful cooking of a jus, to the selection of the appropriate herb from our garden as a garnish. We are sorry that you were unable to appreciate that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barnabrow Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnabrow Country House

Address: Cloyne, Midleton, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Midleton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Midleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barnabrow Country House, dating from 1639, has been lovingly and extensively restored over the past ten years. It now proudly stands as one of the most stunning wedding venues in Munster. It sprawls over 35 acres, has 22 individually-designed bedrooms and a large medieval-style banqueting hall that seats 150 guests as well as some traditional self-catering cottages. It is relaxed and friendly and offers a truly different ambiance for celebrations that are bespoke and exclusive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Barnabrow Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnabrow Country House Hotel Midleton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barnabrow Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.