We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad At All” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barnabrow Country House

Save Saved
You added Barnabrow Country House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Barnabrow Country House
Cloyne, Midleton, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ireland, West Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Not Bad At All”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed here overnight for a wedding. The room was lovely, very rustic indeed ! However, there was no television in the room & it was not overly clean. There were a few creepy crawlys/dust in the corners of the room & behind the bathroom door but this is to be expected as I would think the room was in a converted stable block or barn.

I would not choose this place personally as a wedding venue. It would be ideal for a very small wedding about 30-40 people or for a private birthday party etc. I felt we were very squashed into the function room for the wedding I attended, the food was not bad, it was forgettable, the desert was still frozen when we received it.

All in all I would stay here again but only for a short stay, I would not recommend this place to my acquintances.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    14
    4
    11
    13
See reviews for
41
26
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Antrim, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I'm still buzzing from having our wedding at this venue in July this year! From our first visit to Barnabrow last year we knew it was something special and different! I loved its country feel and rustic charm! Even the donkeys & geese in the fields which are fab and are now in our wedding photos! The wedding photo opportunities here are just perfect which means you have less time away from your guests! We could not say enough about how easy everyone at Barnabrow was to deal with, in particular Rosita; the wedding coordinator was just lovely and helped everything run so smoothly on our day! The food was top notch and it added to our Scottish theme that the chef is Scottish! In particular, I loved the goat’s cheese starter and the salmon. The service and rooms were just fab and I know some friends of ours stayed in the cottages attached to Barnabrow and they were lovely & spacious too. The option of the late night bar is a fab idea and the venue is yours exclusively so its just you and your guests all night! Brilliant! We can’t thank you enough for our wonderful wedding day at your venue; we can't wait to come back for dinner again soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I had my wedding there, first saw the place and liked it but I had a feeling they wouldn't be the best to deal with!! Should of stuck with my instincts, not very welcoming, day before my wedding boss lady completely ignores me, looks at me as if to say what are you doing here, no best of luck nothing, (she would be gone the day of my wedding) I felt very sad about that. Rooms were damp and covering up wet, damps dirty floors with holes in them with rugs were kids were sleeping!! Breakfast -- only a few people were given a choice full Irish or eggs with salmon or bacon. Bride and Groom not given this choice only eggs with salmon or bacon. They don't care once they have you in and your money. Its sad because it is a lovely place but the wrong people are running it. Could be a great spot for events just not helpful staff, won't listen to you, the boss lady very rude. One last thing they charge €8 for corkage, brought my own wine and they opened 4 bottles of wine for each table and put them on them (2 red and 2 white) had 7 tables inc. head. 8 people at the rest of the tables!!!!! That was bang out of order, Been the Bride I was hurt and mad I couldn't enjoy the meal as I was looking at all this wine opened and going to waste, I did speak up but as some reviews will tell you get no satisfaction at all. According to them they don't make mistakes answer for everything, not professional as for the one answering the phone!! What can I say How rude... Overall I am very disappointed, will be ringing them to let them know. Will let you know how I got on.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Just attended my sister's wedding here in the beautiful Barnabrow House. From start to finish it was excellent.The venue itself is fantastic, from the outdoor decking area to the indoor reception room with an authentic fire and the rustic but gorgeous reception room. We could not have had a better day for a wedding. The staff could not have been more helpful and courteous. Rosita did a fabulous job and no request was an issue. She couldn't have done more for us. The food was delicious and an amazing day & night was had by all.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Antrim
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Back to County Antrim from the wedding of our nephew and what a wonderful time we had. The wedding meal and the breakfast were of the highest standard. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful and the accomodation was excellent. We really enjoyed the formal style of the house and the informal layout of the rooms. The only thing that spoiled it for us was my wife leaving her phone behind. After a phone call the problem was solved and the phone was posted and reunited with its owner - honesty and courtesy appreciated.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Such a beautiful venue on top of excellent staff and service. I felt like I was a guest in someones home, and all of our needs were met plus more. I was there recently for a wedding and everthing went as planned. I couldn't have asked for a more spacious, comfortable, and relaxing environment. Thank you so much to all that make this place possible. It is just breath taking.

Room Tip: They are all wonderful and had a tour of most rooms and the main house is stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were lucky enough to be invited to a wedding at Barnabrow Country House Hotel last week & really enjoyed the wedding experience there. Quite different from the conventional weddings. The wedding itself took place there and afterwards all the wedding party were directed to the patio where we were met with champagne & music filled the air with a band playing for the guests – delightful area where people could chat & mingle with the bride & groom, we were blessed with sunshine and beautiful views of the countryside. Overall it was a lovely change from the normal concrete block hotels which are the norm – we loved it!.
The wedding feast was just that a feast – well done to the chef! and we were reminded if we had dietary requirements – they would be seen to. Management & staff were very friendly.
Check-in was very fast & professional, we were shown to our room, which was amazing, the décor and ambiance was perfect & spotless.
Breakfast next morning was excellent – the sight of freshly squeezed orange juice in the morning just made it for us. I see some tables near us left tips, as we did. The staff could not have been more friendly & helpful throughout our stay. Absolutely top notch people.
Our overall experience was that we loved the place and would definitely be returning to this fantastic hotel at a future date.

Room Tip: Tip: Ideal base for day trips!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barnabrow Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnabrow Country House

Address: Cloyne, Midleton, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Midleton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty lodging in Midleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barnabrow Country House, dating from 1639, has been lovingly and extensively restored over the past ten years. It now proudly stands as one of the most stunning wedding venues in Munster. It sprawls over 35 acres, has 22 individually-designed bedrooms and a large medieval-style banqueting hall that seats 150 guests as well as some traditional self-catering cottages. It is relaxed and friendly and offers a truly different ambiance for celebrations that are bespoke and exclusive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Barnabrow Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnabrow Country House Hotel Midleton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barnabrow Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.