We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded all expectations - a great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Paddocks Holiday Village

The Paddocks Holiday Village
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Midleton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Paddocks Holiday Village
Save
You added The Paddocks Holiday Village to your Saves list
Broomfield East, Midleton, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Devizes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Exceeded all expectations - a great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

Loved this place. Travelled with 2 young children aged 4 and 18 months.

The location is ideally situated, just outside of Midleton town centre but within easy access as only 5 minutes away. The town centre has all the amenities you could wish for, with a tesco open until midnight every day so you can stock up the kitchen on arrival.

The Paddocks is located within the countryside with lovely views over rolling hills so the village is in a quiet setting.

There is a play area for the children, which my youngest enjoyed especially, as she cried when we got in the car and did not visit the play area!

The actual accomodation was superb. We stayed in one of their bungalows which we didn't know existed as they weren't on the website we booked through and we were overwhelmed with the size of it. A superb place. You enter through the porch into a massive lounge come diner off of which are 3 double bedrooms, 1 ensuite and an extra toilet/shower room. This then leads into a huge kitchen with all the facilities you require, fridge freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, microwave, cooker etc. A few instructions on how to use these facilities in the welcome pack would have been appreciated, but they were easy to work out for yourself. Also, some instructions on how to adjust the heating would have been nice too.

The kitchen leads into a sunroom which has a door leading on to a patio area with table and chairs and a washing line if you so wish to use. There is also ample parking out the front.

The staff were very accommodating providing us with a cot for our youngest and a highchair. the only thing that would have been nice would have been a few carpets as the whole house is wooden flooring which could be a little hard if your little one fell over , but on the upside it makes it easier to clean.

There are no plates, cups or cutlery suitable for young children so you may wish to bring some over with you, or buy some when you get there.

The TV selection wasn't great when we were over as they didn't have a strong enough aerial due to the change over to digital but they were looking to get satellites to improve this, so it may be worth bringing some DVD's to watch in the meantime.

Overall though our experience here was a very positive one and we will definitely look to go back again in the future. Thank you.

Room Tip: Close to Cobh, Cork airport, Blarney and Kinsale
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mallow, Co Cork
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

Stayed with small baby and extended family in March 2011 and loved this accommodation. Very spacious and modern houses, good sized bedrooms, comfy beds and well equipped kitchen, particularly important with a small baby. Cot also made available to us. Loved the spacious living area with large dining table and separate seating area with flat screen tv. Nice area at rear of the house with washing line and wooden table and chairs. Lovely playground next to reception area and plenty of space for kids to play safely. Staff very helpful and friendly. Located in beautiful area, just 5 mins drive from the town of Midleton.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

We stayed in The Paddocks in March 2011 as a perfect base for visiting Cork city and East Cork.
The house was spacious, comfortable and had every kitchen amenity required, meaning all we had to bring was ourselves. As another poster commented, a home from home.
Overall, a thoroughly enjoyable long weekend in a very relaxing location.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

I stayed in the paddocks with my wife and extended family and found the staff extremely helpful. Special thanks to Breda who looked after our every need. Having a dog with us was no problem. House is perfectly designed for family living. The kitchen was provided with fridge, oven, microwave, dishwasher, washing machine and tumble dryer. Beds were made up as we wanted them i.e. two king size and two singles. Basically home from home. Ber and John Twomey (owners) could not do more to make our stay hassle free and enjoyable. Great spot for a chill out holiday. Midleton the nearest town was only 5 minutes drive away.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

We were booked into the Paddocks holiday village for 3 days as part of our summer break, we called the caretaker the morning we were due to arrive to advise we would be there between 1pm and 2pm, we were told the house would not be ready till later in the afternoon. We arrived at 4pm and were told by a very rude caretaker the number of our house and we were advsied whilst the house had been cleaned the beds had not been made and someone would be up to do this shortly. As we had 2 small babies with us who were due their dinner we went up and started to unpack and prepare their dinner. A short while later 2 very rude teenagers came in to make up the beds we had requested 3 double rooms however only 1 was being made up like this when we questioned 1 of the girls rolled her eyes up to heaven and muttered somnething about having to go and get different sheets whilst going out the door.
Two disgustingly dirty travel cots were then delivered up along with 2 high chairs one of which had no straps! At this stage we also noticed the dirt of the floors the babies were down crawling and within 30 minutes they both had to be fully changed as their clothes were black with dirt, when we moved the couch and the chairs in the sitting room there was dirt underneath.
As we were only staying for 3 days we did not want to have to try and find somewhere else to go so we went down to the local Tesco and bought cleaning products and spent the rest of the night cleaning. This completely ruined the 1st day of our break.
The childrens playarea was run down with broken swings and a goal post leaning up against a fence. This was not enclosed either and there may have been electric gates but these were wide open for the duation of our stay.
There are far nicer places in Cork to stay in Cobh, Yaughal, Bantry anywhere but here really I just wish we had been aware of this before booking!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

I stayed in the paddocks with husband and 4 young children. House is perfectly designed for young kids. Windows can only open slightly which added an extra sense of security. Kitchen provided with dishwasher, washing machine and tumble dryer as well as outside line. Basically home from home. Bir and John (owners) were very helpful and often found my kids in their kitchen getting fed!! Great spot for kids and quiet at night.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

Fantastic accomodation, very new and great quality but no onsight shops or resteraunt.
Not really a holiday village but more of a small holiday housing estate in country setting.
You cant stay here without transport or a lot of Euro's for taxis. It's approx 1-2 miles to the nearest town of Midleton along winding country roads that are not in great condition and in some places, very narrow.
But the main issue was that we thought we should have paid 250 Euro's for 3 nights in March and got charged 300, they then had the cheek to charge over 44 euros for gas and electric which is not mentioned as an extra on the website and quite frankly, an outragous amount even if the pound wasnt as low as 1.06.
Overall it would have been quite good value at the 250 Euros it was advertised at, as the 3 bedroom house is fantastic but we left feeling like we got ripped off.
Taxis from town after a night out was 12 Euros,
A kebab was 7.
A pint of lager was an average of 5 Euros (£4.95)
Lots of pubs in Midleton but not within walking distance at all.
Local wildlife park was very nice day out, and we visited Blarney castle to kiss the stone.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Paddocks Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Paddocks Holiday Village

Address: Broomfield East, Midleton, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Midleton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Midleton
Number of rooms: 52

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Paddocks Holiday Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.