We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Longueville House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Longueville House Hotel to your Saves list
Longueville House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Killarney road (N72), Mallow, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mallow
Cork
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2007

This is an absolutely fabulous place to stay. The service is impeccable and you are made to feel like royalty. The food is devine,
I think the meal was truly the best I ever had.

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    23
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
44
64
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2006

Our family of 4 visited Longueville house for two nights on our way back to Dublin from Kenmare. It was extremely enjoyable. The historic house sits on a gently sloping hill overlooking green farmlands and forests in a broad valley. Cows amble by in the pasture out front and sheep mow the grassy fields through which the long drive winds. There are several well-marked walks available around the estate and many quiet places to explore.

Our room was a large corner suite (Vineyard) on the second floor that required a little effort to reach over a couple different sets of stairs, but our luggage was kindly delivered for us. The ground floor rooms are beautiful and large enough to accommodate all the guests without becoming cramped.

The menu was provided in the late afternoon for review and, over drinks in the lounge, diner’s choices were taken by the host. The dining room is located in the conservatory attached to the house and offers a wonderful experience in any weather. Our first meal began at sunset when the sun illuminated the hills and clouds with an orange glow that made the greens of the valley even more vibrant. The food, as noted, is excellent, but limited to two fixed price menus – standard and (for us) ambitious. The chef creates imaginative dishes using local ingredients and the staff was professional in their presentation and delivery of them.

The property is located in Mallow, which is a bit far from the Ring of Kerry area, especially given all the other hotel options available there, however, we drove to Dingle one day and returned before dinner without feeling rushed. Cork and Cobh are nearer and offer many interesting sites.

Our daughters enjoyed Minnie, the owners’ spaniel that lives on the property and spent many hours wandering the grounds with her in tow. They performed an animal rescue one evening when Minnie delivered an unharmed hedgehog who remained rolled up in a spiky ball hours after in a safe (for then) location in the woods.

We reluctantly left after two nights feeling that we could easily have extended our stay to three if we had not had to catch an afternoon flight from Dublin. Longueville House is a genteel, relaxing location in the heart of the Irish countryside. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
278 helpful votes 278 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2006

Stayed in this lovely hotel for 3 nights in a front facing (superior) room with breathtaking views across the valley. No lift but worth climbing 4 flights of stairs for the position. Outstanding food from highly talented chef with ingredients mostly from the estate. The young staff, of various nationalities, gave impeccable service. The Victorian conservatory was charming and we ate dinner in there each evening. We agree with a previous reviewer who commented on the 4 course table d'hote menu sometimes being more than can be managed. There is a two course menu available - but only before 7-15pm - rather early for us. We did suggest on the guest questionnaire that a la carte options be available, however, this was our only complaint.

  • Liked — peaceful location , great food.
  • Disliked — a la carte menu not offered
  • Tips/Secrets — can recommend front facing rooms
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2005

Spent our first three nights in Ireland at the Longueville House and went on day trips to the Muckross House, Ring of Kerry, Kenmare, the Blarney Castle, and Kinsale, before moving east. Longueville House is an exceptional place to stay - luxurious estate living with bed and breakfast attention, and reasonably priced. All staff were extremely friendly and helpful... they made the stay a very enjoyable experience. The owner's mother-in-law came around at breakfast in the mornings welcoming the guests and asking if she could be of any help with plans for the day. I enjoyed taking early morning walks around the estate and gardens, frequently seeing rabbits and pheasant. Our room was very comfortable... nice and large... with a garden view. We do, however, recommend paying a little more for an even larger room with a magnificent front view of the valley. Plumbing in the room was a little clunky, but we figured it out eventually.

Dinner in the restaurant was an elegant experience, starting with drinks in the drawing room, and then moving to the Victorian glass-enclosed conservatory for a gourmet meal. Breakfast was friendly and informal... with both continental and cook to order options included in the room rate. Again, all of the wait staff, both dinner and breakfast, were great. One thing we would have liked is some casual dining options for the end of a long day on the road. A couple of days we were just too tired for the full dinner treatment, and had to go elsewhere for something a little lighter and quicker. (Frankly, at Longueville House they probably would have fixed it if we asked, but we didn't.)

Staying at the Longueville House was a great way to begin our week in Ireland. It was truly a remarkable experience, and we hated to leave. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2005

This was by far the best place we stayed! The service and the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, the house beautiful, and the atmosphere elegant but most unpretentious. We felt right at home. Dinners were superb. This location in northern Cork was a bit farther away from some of thr peninsula drives we had planned on but the overall experience of staying there was well worth it.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2005

We all three agreed--Longueville House was the favorite of all the hotels on our 10-day trip to Ireland, Sheen Falls Lodge and the Merrion in Dublin notwithstanding. The house is lovely, the rooms charming, the baths modern, the food fabulous, the service friendly and welcoming, the hosts knowledgeable and helpful. Couldn't have asked for more--except a longer stay!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2005

For a special evening away everyone should go for at least 2 nights. Its just a forgotton treasure. Food, staff and atmosphere what can one say....
The weather was rotten but really it didn't matter when one starts eating at 8pm and finishes at 11 snuggled by the open fire. If one doesn't belive just go....

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Longueville House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longueville House Hotel

Address: Killarney road (N72), Mallow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Mallow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mallow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Longueville House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Longueville House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longueville Hotel Mallow
Longueville Mallow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Longueville House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.