We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Dining Experience in Stylish Setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Springfort Hall Hotel

Springfort Hall Hotel
Springfort Hall Country House Hotel, Mallow, Ireland
+353 2221278
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 16 Restaurants in Mallow
Cuisines: Bakery, Coffee Shop, Delicatessen, Dessert, Irish, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: In a secluded woodland setting in Cork's Blackwater Valley, Springfort Hall Hotel has an old-fashioned charm ideal for romantic getaways or discreet business meetings. The hotel's seductive dark-walled restaurant adds to the intimate ambience, with a succulent menu of international flavours. Typically imaginative dishes include Chinese-style roasted duck with a caramelised kumquat sauce and roasted fillet of ostrich and camel on a raz el hanout bread and potato cake. The Head Chefs make frequent trips to local farmers' markets in search of inspiration for their original and traditional recipes. The team believes that it is easy to cook and create great dishes with first class ingredients and this promise to use the best produce is the philosophy behind the Springfort Hall dining experience.
Forest Row, UK
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Excellent Dining Experience in Stylish Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Springfort Hall is an old country house about half way between Doneraile and Mallow in County Cork. The restaurant area is a new extension to the house, but it hsares something of the elegance and style of the original building.
The distinctly nouvelle cuisine was of a very high quality, with lots of local specialities and some very original starters and desserts. I would recommend the fresh fish dishes in particular.
Service was smart and friendly, and the bill - considering the quality of the food - was reasonable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    19
    6
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Birthday party celebrations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had dinner here for four people - two of whom were celebrating their birthdays. This was our third year in a row choosing Springfort Hall as a birthday dinner venue. As a group with three vegetarians and one coeliac the hotel staff were very accommodating and provided us with coeliac and vegetarian specific menues. We enjoyed a drink by the lovely warm fire in the waiting area (cold evening out) while awaiting our table and deciding our orders. As we were dining at 8pm on a Tuesday there was only our group and one other in the restaurant for dinner. The food was delicious and service was excellent. Springfort Hall itself is a lovely country house hotel with well maintained grounds - ideal for a walk before or after dinner if one wished. I highly recommend Springfort Hall for a celebratory meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We found the hotel as a late deal which was a really good price whilst touring West Ireland using b&b's. So to find a good hotel with nice rooms was great. Excellent food available in the bar & more formal in the dining room. We used the bar & the food was great... Especially the deserts! If you can get a god deal, it's well worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Anniversary party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had dinner here for 16 people to celebrate my parents 55th wedding anniversary. They were flexible about the number of people attending right up to the day before the dinner. The food was superb and could hold it's own with anywhere that I've eaten. It was amazing value given it's quality. The place is beautiful with a guest lounge and an atmospheric Victorian dining room. The staff were great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Disappointed about the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Was here for sunday lunch, Hotel is in lovely setting, liked the fell of the place, the Sunday lunch menu looked really good set menu for €29:95, for this price you'd expect good food and good portions... The food was really tasty put very disappointed with portion size, ordered the goats cheese starter(small portion) the roast beef( beef was lovely but got the smallest portion of veg 1scoop of mash potato 1spoon of carrot and 4small pieces of pepper) dessert was fine. We payed €119:80 for 4for a Sunday lunch a bit pricy for what you get plus €4:70 for a pint of Heineken...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Springfort Hall Hotel also viewed

Mallow, County Cork
Mallow, County Cork
 

Been to Springfort Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Springfort Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.