We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eva represents the best of Ireland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park South Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Park South Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Park South Bed & Breakfast
Doneraile, Mallow, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Mallow B&B and Inns
Oshawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Eva represents the best of Ireland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Could not have asked for a better welcome to Ireland than the welcome we received from Eva. We flew into Cork, picked up our car and headed to Park south B&B. We were greeted with scones, homemade jam, a fresh out of the oven pie and a very warm Irish welcome from Eva. We stayed in a cottage as there were 4 of us. Eva put a fire on for us that evening and we were made very comfortable. Plan on booking this B&B again when I am in the area.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
43
13
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We picked this B&B because it was reasonably convenient to Cork and not far off the highway from Kilkenny. What a pleasant surprise! Extremely comfortable and modern but still with that old-style B&B feel and Eva is a very special person -- do spend time with her in the kitchen. Very best breakfast in Ireland. And when we wanted a walk, Eva pointed out Doneraile Park a 1/2 mile or so away; it was enchanting! A large herd of deer roams the hills (fenced in) and a family of swans hangs out near the old stone bridge on the river. Gorgeous family-frequented park. Thanks Eva! And thanks for the tip about O'Connell's in the English Market -- the smoked mackerel was to die for.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sudbury
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I came across Park South by accident really, on my way to Mallow. I felt at home there immediately, and couldn't believe the welcome and hospitality I was given by Eva. The food was abundant and delicious, and I couldn't recommend this home from home highly enough. Many thanks Eva, and I hope to stay with you again next year. Kevin(UK and originally Cavan).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanRafael, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We had the opportunity to stay at Park So. when we were driving across Ireland, and picked Mallow as a mid-way point. Unfortunately, the B&B is not in Mallow proper, but about 15 minutes away in the countryside. The owner, Eva, was as gracious as could be to my sister and nephew, greeting us with tea and scones. She was very friendly and kind.
The problem for us was that being out of the way we got lost finding it, and the drive home from the restaurant was a little nerve racking as the roads are very narrow, and the locals drive fast. I would suggest just driving through to your destination. After staying in other less expensive B&B's we found the rate a little high (100 Euros) to spend the night and have breakfast. Ireland uses the term B&B for everything from inn's to homes, as this one is, which is also somewhat perplexing.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I stayed with my family in the cottage Nagle's View and every morning walked up to the main B&B for a delicious Irish breakfast. This meant we had the best of both world's; we had all the cooking facilities we needed at the cottage together with the privacy and space that the cottage provides. Our arrangement was slightly unusual but Eva (the owner) was happy to accommodate us. The cottage has everything in it that you could want. WiFi is in the main B&B. Beds are comfy. We visited lots of places such as Blarney Castle, Cobh and Mallow Races - a car is a must.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinlough, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

hello eva,you have a beautiful holiday home we did not know what we were going to,as we were let down so many times with holiday home's in ireland most of the houses were not clean.but your house is 5star+ every thing is top of the range and clean.we had a great time here,its so handy for touring cork,kerry,limerick and waterford.as we went to then all.then back to the house at night.there are great places to eat in mallow,and kinsale.had a lovely meal in jacobs ladder in cobh.getting back to your house at night was great we just relaxed in the sun room and put some of your music on and watched the sunset.in the mornings we had our breakfast in the sun room and looked at the beautiful countryside.we had sunshine all the time we were here.eva your home baking was great and was a lovely touch.hope to be back next year.keep up the hard work.god bless xx. michael & marie co leitrim.20-27 july 2013

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Eva is a lovely host. The room was clean and came with a TV and fridge and bathroom was ensuite. Breakfast was delicious with great vegetarian options.
would definitely recommend this place for a nice countryside stay.

But just be aware that it is over 13 km from Mallow and a taxi return to mallow town itself costs around 65 euros. There does not seem to be much public transport to this location.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park South Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park South Bed & Breakfast

Address: Doneraile, Mallow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Mallow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Mallow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering homemade scones and tea on arrival, the 4-star Park South is set in 3 acres of land in the Blackwater Valley with beautiful, panoramic views. It provides bright rooms with en suite bathrooms, and full Irish breakfasts.With light and classic decor, each room at Park South Bed & Breakfast enjoys idyllic countryside views and features a TV, a mini fridge, and tea/coffee facilities for guests to relax with. Hairdryers and electric blankets are also available in the rooms.Hearty breakfasts are served each morning in the dining room, and home-cooked evening meals and packed lunches are available on request.Free parking is available, and Blarney Castle, home to the famous Blarney Stone, is a 50-minute drive away. Guests can enjoy numerous walking and cycling routes through the surrounding countryside. Mallow is 15 minutes away by car.Self catering cottages also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Park South Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park South Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.