We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and staff are great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Church Lane

Church Lane
Castle Street, Macroom, Ireland
(026) 23402
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Macroom
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Situated in the idyllic setting of an old church yard, Church Lane Restaurant, consists of five separate dining areas to create a unique and cosy dining experience, making it the perfect setting to spend time with friends and family.Church Lane’s philosophy is to serve food that is naturally full of flavour and goodness by cooking with seasonal ingredients, locally sourced and from places we trust.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great food and staff are great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

we have eaten in church lane a few times now when in cork and have always been impressed. We ate from the Tapas menu this time and we were very impressed, the quality was fantastic and the portion sizes were Irish rather than Spanish (big was good for us) the seafood platter for 2 was great. I didn't have to worry about gluten free they remembered from the last time at Christmas. This restaurant covers food for all tastes well done again church lane

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KateM21, Owner at Church Lane, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Customer

Thank you for taking the time to review Church Lane. We are delighted to hear that you enjoy visiting our restaurant on your trips to Macroom. We are always happy accommodate our customers with special dietary requirements.

We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon!

Warm regards

Cheryl & Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    15
    4
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friends Introduction to Church Lane”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Having dined at Church Lane several times I thought I would share this dining haven with friends. One of my friends had never eaten at Church Lane,but will without doubt return after her experience.Impressed by decor,excellent service,relaxed unrushed atmosphere & excellent food,she has pledged to return as indeed will the rest of us.Most enjoyable.
FC&S

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KateM21, Owner at Church Lane, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Customer

Thank you for taking the time to review Church Lane. We appreciate your kind words and were delighted to hear that you recommended us to your friends.

We hope to see you all again soon.

Warm regards

Cheryl & Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very nice family spot for Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Had a smashing Mother's Day lunch here today, we were 4 adults, 2kids and an infant.

The proprietor could not have been more helpful and anticipated the diverse needs of the group.

Food was very nice and super value with kids eating for free.

The restaurant and facilities were spotless,setting is lovely .

I believe it is quiet the find. We will be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KateM21, Owner at Church Lane, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Customer

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your Mother's Day lunch here in Church Lane.

We looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards

Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Love the chicken wings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Very good restaurant in Macroom. As my title says, I'm partial to the chicken wings baked in their special sauce. That sauce, mmmmmm!
Always eat too much when I go there. Always nice family atmosphere!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KateM21, Owner at Church Lane, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Customer

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted to hear you enjoy your visits to Church Lane.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Cheryl & Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A magnificent Munch in Macroom”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I stumbled upon this little gem last Saturday. Myself and my date had lunch there. Everything about Church Lane was perfect. The restaurant has a cosy feel about it, the owner couldn't have been more helpful and the lunch was very tasty. This is a place I couldn't recommend highly enough. On my next trip to Macroom I will definitely be returning. The food and service were excellent, and the prices extremely reasonable
went for a stroll afterwards by the river where Macroom town Council have erected exercise machines for public use. A very nifty idea and allows you to burn off the calories consumed in Church Lane.... hahahah
Macroom may need a bypass but this place definitely should not be passed by :-)

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KateM21, Owner at Church Lane, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Customer

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review for Church Lane. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience here with us.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards

Cheryl & Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Church Lane also viewed

 
Macroom, County Cork
Macroom, County Cork
 

Been to Church Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Church Lane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.