We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub grub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dan Buckley's Bar

Dan Buckley's Bar
Castle Hotel | Macroom, Macroom, Ireland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 16 Restaurants in Macroom
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $22
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Dan Buckley's Bar awarded: The Best Hotel Carvery Munster & Ireland 2014/15 The Black & White Munster Hotel Bar of The Year The RAI Best Customer Service 20113/14 The spacious, traditional bar offers you an extensive food menu throughout the day, with Carvery Lunch between 12 and 3.30 Pm. A delectable and mouth watering evening menu is served from 3.30 Pm to 9.30 Pm ( Monday to Saturday) and 3.30 Pm to 9 pm on Sunday. Join us on Saturday Nights for live music from 10pm! And Tuesday Summer Trad Music Sessions in July and August.
somerset
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good pub grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The staff were excellent, efficient and friendly and we were quickly seated although the restaurant was busy. The food was OK but a little ordinary. The local producer's platter was fine but contained some not very local produce. Sun dried tomatoes and olives are a bit alien to Cork but the local sausage and cheese were OK. The beef stew was full of meat but lacked taste, a bit disappointing. I would eat there again but would not go out of my way to do so.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    15
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Galway
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

It is well worth stopping in Macroom to eat at Dan Buckley's bar. Have a great bar menu with plenty of choice and provided value for money. The waiting staff were all very young but were attentive and polite. Service was excellent and presentation of food was second to none. Would recommend and certainly will be revisiting.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Tasty food & great atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Recently on a long drive through Cork, we weren't too sure where to stop for food. Macroom offered up the Castle Hotel to us & we decided to give it a go! A very busy spot (well on a Saturday evening anyway) we were able to find a table in a quiet spot. We ordered 2 burgers off the bar menu from a friendly waiter who also brought our drinks. The burger was delicious - served with a side of pepper sauce, salad & chips. The portion was generous & represented good value for money. I left here making sure to take a brochure, as I would recommend it to anyone who happens to be passing by & will definitely return myself - Perhaps to stay in the hotel the next time as it looks great also.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food, A Must Try”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

This bar is located in the castle hotel in Macroom. The decor is beautiful, the food is really tasty, Myself and my partner and two children 3 years and 7 years went for dinner we all got the roast of the day which was bacon and cabbage with a leek sauce. It was the best bacon and cabbage I had out in a restaurant. The bacon and cabbage came with potatoes and veg, The childrens meals were €6 each and the adults meal was approx €12 euro each. The staff are so friendly and couldn't do enough for their customers, this was my second time there as I was there before as a group of adults for a meal in the evening time. Perfect location for family, couples, solo and business. It is a quiet restaurant. A must try!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Dan Buckley's Bar is part of the Castle Hotel and to be frank I was not expecting much, we stopped there on our way back to Cork in order to have dinner and... A very good surprise the pub's food was very good for the 5 of us everybody loved the food. Moreover the staff was very nice which is a plus. I know that if one day I have to stop in Macroom again, I will definitely go back to Dan Buckley's Bar.
Price tag for an a la carte dish around 12-14€, there is a meal around 20€ available.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dan Buckley's Bar also viewed

 
Macroom, County Cork
Macroom, County Cork
 

Been to Dan Buckley's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dan Buckley's Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.