We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rugged natural beauty for all ages and fitness levels” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gougane Barra Park

Gougane Barra Park
Gougane Barra, Macroom, Ireland
353-21-488-2218
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 Attractions in Macroom
Type: Parks, Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Activities: Biking
Attraction details
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Rugged natural beauty for all ages and fitness levels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

One of our favourite places to go with our kids and visitors if we have a bit more time. The park is very well kept with many signposted walks, from easy low level walks to more challenging walks crossing the water and along the hilltops. You'll be rewarded with great views, lots of adventure for the kids and afterwards, you can stop by the hotel to have a drink and a treat. Combine it with a visit to the lovely little church perched on the island before you drive into the park and it's a perfect half to full day out.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    21
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Romantic destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We attended a wedding recently in Gougane Barra, it was the most romantic setting on a beautiful sunny day.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Picture perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We got married in the church and have spend lots of time in and around the park. It is a breathtakingly beautiful spot.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missoula, mt
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“An amazing getaway a stone's throw from Cork”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Thankfully, a friend of mine recommended (on the advice of locals) that my husband and I visit Gougane Barra Forest Park. I am so glad that we took an afternoon to drive to the park (about an hour away) and explore the lush, vivid green trails. The church is charming, as mentioned by others, but the really treasure is the natural beauty. Waterfalls (cascades), sheep and moss all added to the magic. A wonderful way to get out of the city and enjoy the Irish countryside that you might not have expected.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“a walk in the park in beautiful Gougane Barra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

a visit to Gougane Barra is a must as you walk throu the park. it is beautiful and peaceful, I would recommend you go on a clear day in order to get the best views for your visit. on your vist call to see the picturesque church and lake

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gougane Barra Park also viewed

Clonakilty, County Cork
 
Macroom, County Cork
 

Been to Gougane Barra Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gougane Barra Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.