We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kajjal

Kajjal
7 The Green, Malahide, Ireland
+353 1 806 1960
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 40 Restaurants in Malahide
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Kajjal was opened by Sean Collender and Shoaib Yunus in October 2007 and has been warmly welcomed by the people of Malahide. Kajjal's aim is to provide a friendly and relaxed atmosphere where you can enjoy a consistently good standard of food and service. Kajjal is open 7 days a week from 12 till 11pm and offers great value lunch, every Sunday live music is on from 2pm to 4pm. Sister restaurants Kinara in Clontarf and KInara Kitchen in Ranelagh.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

Good food, God service, hard to get a table at short notice which is a good complaint for them. Overall, a nice experience.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    36
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“very disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

This was the fourth time I've eaten here and every other visit has been excellent.
this time around the food was disappointing, clearly they have changed the chef and it shows!
for the prices they charge they seriously need to improve and fast.
the service was okay and reasonably swift but I will be thinking long and hard before I venture back.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

We ate here last week on a short break in Ireland , this is a superb restaurant superb service and the food is first class. Great wines also.. Highly recommend a visit.. If ever I'm back I'll be visiting and also now will be comparing future restaurants to this..

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous Indian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

Top notch Indian cuisine that steps away from false food colouring etc. Early bird menu great value with reasonable choice. A la carte menu is superb with a good choice of high quality starters and mains. Good service.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“the best Indian food I have ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

My second visit here while on a further holiday in Ireland. It seem axiomatic with people that no matter where they travel in the world the best curry house is always in their local town. Well with Bradford Yorkshire not far away that was unlikely top be the case with me but the Kajjal is head and shoulders over any other curry I have had. Te spicing is excellent, the portions generous, and the service as good as you would expect. The seating is a mixture of circular benches and seats so is perfectly fine. It is not cheap but neither ridiculously expensive (as say in London) so worth every penny.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kajjal also viewed

Malahide, County Dublin
Malahide, County Dublin
 
Malahide, County Dublin
Malahide, County Dublin
 

Been to Kajjal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kajjal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.