We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury B & B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beechwood Country House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Beechwood Country House to your Saves list
Beechwood Country House
Blackwood Lane, Malahide, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Malahide B&B and Inns
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Luxury B & B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

Joe was the perfect host, so friendly and helpful. The home and grounds are beautiful and so close to an upscale area with shops and restaurants. We had a huge fruitbasket set up for us with yogurt and bisquits because we had to leave at 6am for the airport. He also has a nice breakfast menu. Made you feel so comfortable. I would love to stay there again. You won't be disappointed.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    4
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
15
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

My god-daughter and I were there in mid-Sept. We had driven all day and got to Malahide after dark. We had trouble seeing our landmarks, so Joe came and got us! He then put my god-daughter into his car and drove her to the airport so she could see how to get there in the morning! Joe was a blast to talk too and very kind. The house is stunning and the village looked fun. Because we were headed to the airport in the morning before breakfast, he left a tray with fruit and yogurt outside our room, so we would have something to eat before we left. Next time, I am staying for a couple of days to take advantage of the wonderful hospitality. Would highly recommend this B&B! Thanks, Joe!!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, VA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

I have had enjoyable stays at The Beechwood House on many occasions over the years. Joe O'Reilly is an amiable host , a former taxi driver , he can give you tips on seeing Dublin and the surrounds.The rooms vary in size but are well appointed,comfortable and quiet. A family can request the family suite over the garage,next to the garden for added privacy. Breakfasts are more than adequate.Malahide is an upscale town about 20-30 minutes by taxi from Nassau Street in Dublin. Bus or train service is also available to Dublin from Malahide towncenter.Malahide has many quality restaurants,pubs(Smyth's and Gibney's) if you want to avoid the bustle of Dublin.
The Beechwood House is convenient to many golf courses-Portmarnock,Portmarnock Hotel Links, The Island, Royal Dublin,St Anne's etc.
I was surprised to see a negative review by several New Yorkers, but on my 5-6 stays with golf buddies in groups of 3 to 14, I have only been treated very well.

Cash only policy was always clearly stated when booking was made. It is a nuisance especially with a large group but it was not a surprise

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

When I see the previous few reviews, I'm surprised anyone would have much negative to say about the place. We found the owners to be very warm and friendly. The house is beautiful and the rooms neat and clean (we stayed on two different occasions in two different rooms). We were made to feel welcome (perhaps it was easier because we're non-smokers?) and the owners were willing and able to answer questions about services (bus, laundry, etc.) and to chat when they had time. The location was convenient to the airport and to the city by bus. It was a very pleasant and positive experience for us.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

The owners were rude and inhospitable.
- After insulting my boyfriend for being a smoker (already discussed this prior to booking, that he could go outside whenever he needed to have a quick cigarette) he asked me if I was with my boyfriend "for his money." (We're both Manhattanites in our early 30's- and both have fabulous careers.)
- The owner gave us a cold room with two small separate beds (We were the only guests and specified that we were a couple on a romantic getaway prior to travel).
- The owner frowned upon us asking for glasses for a bottle of champagne.
- The owner INSISTED on securing a cab to the airport the next morning with their "friend's company" over the hired car we had befriended over the day's touring.
- We had an early flight and asked for breakfast at 6am and HE LAUGHED and asked if we were kidding! I'm sorry--- but for $120US+ for a short night's stay we expected the breakfast that was advertised. How hard would it have been to make a little breakfast for your ONLY guests of the night?

They SAID they were in a superb location in Malahide village... but THE LOCATION IS $15-20 TAXI EACH WAY TO THE VILLAGE FOR DINNER! Beware!

It truly felt like we were being watched ... it was super creepy! It seriously ruined our preference for B&B for life.

Not for young couples, surely. Maybe if you're a senior citizen couple who just wants to talk to the owners about the 1930's and get to sleep by 8pm.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2008

Did not enjoy our stay here at all. Impressive house on first sight but unfortunately the B&B seems to be run to suit the owners - the guests' comfort is secondary. No nice touches in bedrooms - one titchy tiny piece of soap which was not replenished for the whole of our stay; one flannel and hand towel between two people; cheap sachets of body wash and no other pleasant touches (eg tissues, biscuits).
Breakfast was probably the worse in terms of choice we have ever had in a B&B: scrambled eggs (with bacon and tomato) or boiled egg - not much else on offer. Barely any choice of cereal or bread either. The entire breakfast had to be chosen the day before.
According to the B&B's website, there should have been a billiard room and lounge made available to guests. However, we were not invited to use either and the doors were firmly shut!
Other annoyances: credit cards not accepted - only cash - again, this was not mentioned on the website or at the time of booking, very inconvenient to discover this fact once we arrived. Very early checking out time: 10.30 am. However, on our last day, the maid very rudely barged into our room at 10.00 am - we were still packing and began stripping the beds (she did not even knock) - unbelievable!
On a positive note, the house is in a relatively nice position (20 minutes walk to centre of Malahide) and Malahide is a nice town. Joe was friendly (afraid we can't say the same for his wife). Overall, we found this establishment very poor value for money. Everything was done 'on the cheap' yet they charged good money for the privilege.

  • Liked — Joe was quite friendly
  • Disliked — Everything else!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2008

We actually spent a night at Beechwood Country House last November, but I wanted to share with everyone that (after one small glitch) we had a really good stay there and it's a good place for your last night in Ireland.
Beechwood is a beautiful, upscale home on the outskirts of the village of Malahide . Bedrooms were large and quiet, comfortable beds, clean & modern bathrooms. We found out that Beechwood is sometimes used by the Grand Hotel in Malahide (four star) to house their overflow guests which gives you an idea of the quality. At 95 pounds per night, it's cheaper than the Grand too, but cash only.

The "glitch" - I had booked with Joe quite early on and had not reconfirmed a few weeks before (always a good idea for any hotel or B&B, of course). I had also originally told him we wouldn't be there until at least 6 or 7 p.m. We actually got there earlier than planned - at 4:30 and no one was there and they didn't answer their phone. It also didn't help that Beechwood is on the edge of a very upscale housing development and didn't have the normal B&B sign. We were reassured by the photos from their web site that I had brought with me and went in to explore Malahide and check out other possible places to stay in case I had really goofed. When we returned at 6 p.m. though, Joe's son was pulling up to greet us (on schedule). Joe was out of town and his son took really good care of us including cooking a delicious breakfast!
We went back into Malahide for a good meal at Vinny Vannuchis - really nice atmosphere too on left going into Malahide on Church Rd. After a good night's sleep and delicious breakfast, we made it to the airport very quickly and easily.

  • Liked — Large comfortable rooms, excellent breakfast, close to airport.
  • Disliked — Next time would keep in closer touch with Joe and get son's cell phone number.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beechwood Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechwood Country House

Address: Blackwood Lane, Malahide, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Malahide
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Malahide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts, the O'Reilly Family, welcome you to Beechwood Country House, one of Dublin's most luxurious and most upmarket family country houses! Though of recent origin, this house has been lovingly designed as a replica of a typical 18th century Dublin City Georgian mansion.Complete with commodious hall, high ceilings and flooring of recycled church pine, Beechwood Country House follows the Georgian architectural and design pattern in all areas except the realm of soft furnishings that have been tastefully finished blending the traditional with the contempory.When you stay at Beechwood Country House, take a leisurely repose and capture the magnitude and unique ambience of the place. Take an imaginary journey back through time and visit the opulence and splendour of Georgian Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Beechwood Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beechwood Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.