We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite restaurant in Malahide” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Sara

Chez Sara
3 Old Street | Malahide, Malahide, Ireland
01 845 1882
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 41 Restaurants in Malahide
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dublin
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Our favourite restaurant in Malahide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

Chez Sara Wine Bar & Restaurant is our favourite restaurant in Malahide. We love the quaintness of the place, with only 8-9 tables in total giving it that small restaurant feel, and the décor of Mexican pine tables complementing this perfectly. The menu and the wine list is small, but everything on it is good and they have daily specials to mix it up and give that bit of variety with the food. The chicken wings are the best I’ve ever had, and their signature dish of lamb shank on a bed of champ is so tender, it falls off the bone and is delicious. The chocolate fondant is cooked to a standard befitting a Michellin starred restaurant, and when you combine these 3 courses it’s a meal well worth travelling out to Malahide for. Prices are reasonable enough too, and the service is very good. The only drawback to the restaurant is that they operate a 7pm and 9pm seating policy – whereas we prefer to eat at about 8pm. It doesn’t affect us to the point that we go elsewhere though – we keep coming back to Chez Sara time and time again.

  • Visited February 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    12
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Very enjoyable restaurant, will definitively come back.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

Very nice atmosphere with friendly and helpful staff.
The food is really fine with a comprehensive wine list.
Not to forget a lovely music in the background.
Will come back very soon!

  • Visited February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing meal, won't be returning”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

Chez Sara is a regular favourite of mine and I recommend it to all my friends mainly because the food is good quality, there is a lovely atmosphere and the staff are friendly and accommodating.
However, I was extremely disappointed by my most recent visit (last Friday evening), it appears Chez Sara has changed ownership and it shows: there is less choice in the menu, the quality of cooking is not as good: my chips were not cooked; the creme brulee was a disappointment and the sauce that came with the fondant was sickly sweet. Moreover, although the staff were friendly they were not as attentive as usual (they also spent a lot of time talking among themselves ), which is disappointing for such a small establishment.
Really sad to see such a good restaurant go downhill, will; have to find a new favourite haunt in Malahide :-(

  • Visited February 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

A wonderful little place. The food was beautiful and the service was excellent. Will definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

4 of us enjoyed a lovely evening in chez Sara. The food was super. It's rare that you enjoy every course but in this case I certainly did! We had smokies for starter (smoked fish with delicious sauce) accompanied by the most delicious bread. My friend had mussels and was very happy. For mains, two of us had duck and one had salmon and another had monkfish. All served with veg and very tasty mashed potato. Desserts were creme brûlée and choc fondant. Both stunning. The place is small and basic but the food is just super. Early bird for 2 courses is €19. Good value and lovely relaxed evening.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Sara also viewed

Malahide, County Dublin
Malahide, County Dublin
 
Malahide, County Dublin
Malahide, County Dublin
 

Been to Chez Sara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Sara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.