We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scotch Bonnet

Scotch Bonnet
4 Church Road, Malahide, Ireland
01 845 5033
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 39 restaurants in Malahide
Cuisines: European, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Email: info@scotchbonnet.ie
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Lovely atmosphere and quirky setting. Service was very good and staff friendly. Really enjoyed this - def would revisit if I was back.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

50% Recommend
    16
    10
    11
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Better places to eat in Malahide !”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Visited Scotch Bonnet last week with a group of friends and boy was I disappointed ! When this restaurant opened a few years back , it had great reviews and interesting food and great value for money. But something has badly gone wrong! To start with, we were not even seated when menus were pushed in our faces and orders requested. ( it was not busy at the time, so there was no need for their impatience and rudeness ! ) . Starters were ordered and were nothing special. Chicken wings are still fine but far smaller portion than before. Ribs satisfactory too but what they call potato skins are nothing like they should be ! More like a few wedges thrown in a bowl with a bit of sauce and cheese and far too many chillies . And at nine euro a bowl ! Far too expensive . But it doesn't end there , oh no . Over nine euro for one fish cake and over 17 for two !!!! Day light robbery . It gets better , or not depending on which side of the table you are on . One tiny portion of fish with ten fat chips and a tiny tumble full of peas cost 17.95 !!!!! A wedge of lemon yes but no sign of even tartare sauce. Service was awful. Plenty of staff around and place not busy , but they would rather clean empty tables and admire their own reflections , than remove the dirty dishes and endless glasses that were piling up on our table. Even when we stock piled them for all to see. The only nice part of the meal were the desserts which all cost 6.95. Still waiting on the coffee that I ordered too !!!!! . So sad to see this place go the same way as its previous owners. They would definitely need to review their menus, prices and attitude in general, if they want to succeed in business . And no they do not have the finest burger in Ireland or even Dublin ????
Far better places to dine nearby where one will find excellent value and service by people who actually care .

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely grub.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Good food and great service.Small with nice atmosphere and friendly staff. "Best burger in Ireland" signs on the wall. They were good, but had better in the U.K.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice lunch/dinner venue! Chilled atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We ate here one Saturday for lunch, I got the chicken wings for starters which were delicious, and the beef burger for main.
I got a lemon cheesecake for desert which was miniature like hilariously small! It had some sort of lemon jelly no sign of “cheese” for a cheese cake! It was awful.
Other than that I thoroughly enjoyed my lunch.
It was a very busy Saturday and the waiters seemed to forget about us sometimes.
But I will be back so that must say something!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Burger claim is ridiculous”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Chicken wings are pretty decent, nice decor but burger is so far off best in Ireland. They should remove claims to it.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scotch Bonnet also viewed

Malahide, County Dublin
Malahide, County Dublin
 
Malahide, County Dublin
Malahide, County Dublin
 

Been to Scotch Bonnet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scotch Bonnet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.