We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Costly.!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Malahide Castle

Malahide Castle
Back Road, Malahide, Ireland
353-1-8169538
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Malahide Castle like an insider
Top Rated
$28*
and up
Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Malahide
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Heist-op-den-Berg, Belgium
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Costly.!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

If you are travelling on a budget, think again.
Everything has to be paid for:
Castle visit: guided tours only. Prepare to leave the back-packs, because they could "scratch the furniture".
Enclosed garden: guided tours only.
The old Abbey with two Sheela-na-gigs (used to ward off evil): no access.
West Lawn: yep, pay to get in...
I guess it must have been costly to build this tourist-trap on those beautiful historical grounds.
And it must have been very costly to raise those walls and wires to enclosed everything.
One good point: walking in the grounds around the domain is free, as is the parking.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    230
    73
    26
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northen Ireland
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The castle is very accessible from Malahide town centre. The castle is mixture of old and new. The old upstairs, new displays, projections etc downstairs and new spiral staircases etc. It is not a very large building but still worth a visit. Our guide was very good and tried to make the tour enjoyable and informative for everyone.

The grounds and walled garden are lovely on a nice day. My wife and I picked up a few items from the Avoca store at the entrance and had a nice picnic lunch in the walled garden.

Worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“gardens and castle worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We visited in the rain, but still enjoyed walking around the lovely grounds and gardens. We also had a tour of the castle- also good so you can make the most of your visit.
There was a nice well stocked shopping area and cafeteria at the entrance.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Lake, Illinois
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
100 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Excellent Historical Castle in Malahide!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

If you have the chance to visit Malahide, you must walk the grounds of Malahide Castle and take a tour of the castle. The castle itself originated in the late 1100's from the Talbots (which ruled the castle from 1185 - 1976). The castle is beautifully decorated, with many original pieces of furniture, paintings, etc -- walking through some rooms, you are taken back 250 years in the blink of an eye.

The tour itself takes about 45mins to an hour. My wife and I's guide - Aiden - was excellent, personable and very knowledgeable on the history past and present of the castle and grounds. The price was cheap for the tour, and we came early in the morning, and had the whole tour to ourselves.

Also, Malahide Castle is the most haunted castle in Ireland, having a minimum of five ghosts. The ghost of Miles Corbet -- who briefly ran the castle in the reign of Oliver Cromwell -- is one of the ghosts, who was executed for signing the death warrant of King Charles I. Corbet was quartered, hanged and drawn, and is now said to haunt the castle in a suit of armour, especially on the anniversary of his death.

The other famous ghost -- who Aiden had spoken of when we were on the tour -- was that of Puck of Malahide. He was a dwarf jester who stood watch over prisoners at Malahide castle. King Henry VIII had sent Lady Fitzgerald as a prisoner, and rumours spread that Puck and Fitzgerald were lovers, and then that they were planning a revolt. To quiet these rumours, the Talbots supposedly murdered Puck (they had claimed Puck committed suicide by stabbing himself, but this is probably not the case). Puck is seen as a friendly ghost, though, and has never hurt anyone, though he has been sighted numerous times over the years, and has appeared in some photos as well.

All in all, this is a place that cannot be missed. If you are into the history of Ireland, architecture and design, or even ghosts, everyone will enjoy this castle. We would definitely visit again when we return to Malahide.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't Miss It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Took a day trip to the Castle, and it was well worth it. The gardens and grounds were perfectly manicured, and the views were spectacular.
Our Castle guide was knowledgeable, very personable, and presented a rich history of the Talbot family up to modern times. The rooms were beautifully furnished and well maintained.
The tour was not rushed which allowed time to enjoy each room with its distinct décor.
Located not far from Dublin, this made for a lovely day in a country setting.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malahide Castle also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Howth, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Malahide Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malahide Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.