We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting, But Overpriced.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Malahide Castle

Malahide Castle
Back Road, Malahide, Ireland
353-1-8169538
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$31*
and up
Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour
Ranked #2 of 11 Attractions in Malahide
Type: Castles, Cultural
Attraction details
Dublin
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Interesting, But Overpriced.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Malahide Castle was first built in the 12th century and was added to over the centuries, with the towers being added in the 1760’s. The Talbot family occupied the castle for almost 800 years, leaving it in 1975, when it was sold to the Irish State. It is very accessible from Dublin city centre (25 minutes by DART train). It is set in magnificent grounds and it is about a 20 minute walk from Malahide village and train station if you are getting the DART from Dublin city centre.

The tour, about 50 minutes, was interesting, providing a good history of the castle and the Talbot family, and their role in Irish history over the centuries. Following recent renovations, there are now three additional rooms (bedrooms) open to the public – seven rooms in all. While the exterior has a ‘castle look’ about it, the interior is more ‘stately home ‘ in style – so don’t be expecting a traditional castle experience.
I visited the castle as part of the North Coast & Malahide Castle bus tour, and consider the whole tour value, but if I was just visiting the castle on it’s own, I feel the €12 entrance fee is too expensive for what you get. However, if you just want to walk the grounds and view the castle from the outside, there is no charge.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    195
    69
    23
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I had bought an online discount voucher for a trip to Malahide Castle & Gardens.
We had lunch at Avoca which was manic - so poorly managed in comparison to all the other Avoca cafe's. There was far less choice and the staff were not friendly.

We presented ourselves with our voucher to the desk at 2.15 and were told we couldn't get a tour until 4.45. There was only 2 of us looking to be booked. Apparently, nothing could be done.

We went for a wander around the gardens which were fine, but not spectacular. Not willing to wait such a ridiculously long time for a tour - we went home.

I am unlikely to visit the castle again and feel that we were given a late tour time as we had a discount voucher.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pr ed county
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Enjoyed our visit very much. Only a couple parts of the castle are period, but enjoyed the tour non-the-less. Our tour guide was a bit dour. The gardens were very nice and some of the trees were Enormous. We REALLY liked the Avoca gift shop. I'd go back just shop there again!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
Top Contributor
276 reviews 276 reviews
83 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Lovey authentic castle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Make sure you are here before 3:30 for the last tour of the day. Lovely grounds and walks. Great historical information about the family and their home. It is well preserved. Towards the end our tour guide got a call and did not really finish the tour we were left hanging as he had told stories and said I will explain at the end. Never did. Maybe he was distracted as there were many young noisy children in our large tour. This is not a place to take children under 10 in my opinion.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We visited Malahide castle on a bus tour in June. The castle itself is interesting and well preserved, but the tour was very rushed and you cannot look around on your own at all as you can in some other castles around the country. The highlight for us was the beautful gounds and gardens which were lovely.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malahide Castle also viewed

 
Howth, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Malahide Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malahide Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.