We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An interesting tour!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Malahide Castle

Malahide Castle
Back Road, Malahide, Ireland
353-1-8169538
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$31*
and up
Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour
Ranked #2 of 11 Attractions in Malahide
Type: Castles, Cultural
Attraction details
Idaho
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“An interesting tour!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The visitor's center was recently remodeled and is simply beautiful. The two greeters at the visitor's center were welcoming and fun! The castle is easy to get to by city bus or by DART train. The informative tour took about an hour, with a friendly guide. We also walked the extensive grounds (being home gardeners ourselves) and that was a tour highlight!! We discovered many new types of plants that we feel we could incorporate into our own garden. We met with two staff members after the tour and suggested that they should provide a free tram service to and from where the bus and Dart drop off in Malahide, because it is a fairly long walk from those areas to the visitor's center and the castle. This is a well designed and interesting tour on beautiful grounds! Well worth a visit!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    193
    69
    23
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Top Contributor
320 reviews 320 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, great snack bar . . . oh, and there's a Castle!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is a great place to visit on the way back from a day trip out to Howth from Dublin. The grounds of the castle are gorgeous and you can take either a guided tour or tour the gardens. However, the FREE offerings . . . like the playground and walking paths are equally fantastic. And, if you're dragging after a travel day, the snack bar has lots of sweet choices and coffees. Really a great place!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Standish, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Visited for friends renewal of wedding vows. Could not wish for a nicer setting. Had a tour of castle which was both informative and beautiful inside. Loved the oak room and the grand dining hall.Lovely grounds in which we had the wedding vows then ate in the courtyard restaurant. Food very good and service by all staff in dealing with wedding party was first class.
It was a lovely sunny day when we visited and as such the venue was very busy,which was nice to see.Not far from Dublin and a very pleasant trip from the city

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Rochelle, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

It take less than a hour to visit the castle itself, but you can walk around in a very beautiful park.
It is a very mice place for a sunday afternoon ! 20min from the city centre by car.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China Grove, North Carolina
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Wonderfully kept castle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I took a 3.5 hour bus trip getting on the double decker bus from the bus pick up at O'Connell Street. It was a gorgeous day to ride along the East coast of Dublin and past Howth Harbor. You only see a few rooms in the castle and the tour itself is only about 45 minutes, but if you like history and seeing original furniture and architecture, you will love this trip. There is a very nice gift shop/restaurant there too so had time to grab a bite and shop before boarding the bus back. A beautiful peacock greeted us when we arrived there too!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malahide Castle also viewed

 
Howth, County Dublin
Malahide, County Dublin
 

Been to Malahide Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malahide Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.