We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in Malahide” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SALE e PEPE

SALE e PEPE
The Diamond, Malahide, Ireland
01 8454600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 40 Restaurants in Malahide
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Stay in Malahide”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

this was our first time in this restaurant and I would definitely recommend it. We had the early bird menu and it was very good. Will be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    29
    10
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Good early bird.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We were searching for a restaurant in the area and TA reviews looked good for this so we decided to give it a try. We were greeted nicely and given a nice table. The room is long and narrow; it wouldn’t be difficult to make it feel full.

The atmosphere was pleasant and comfortable. Music was at just the right volume. Our coats were taken and the menu / specials were explained. We opted for the early bird as it was our first visit. We ordered spicy chicken wings and bruschetta for our starters. Both were very good. I don’t usually order chicken wings but if I came back again tomorrow I’d have them again; very tasty and just a nice amount for a starter. The bruschetta looked simple but also tasted very good. We were very happy with starters. We also decided on a glass of house Merlot which was for me, better than expected a very tasty house red.

For our mains we both chose the minute steak [Char-grilled 7 oz. Minute Steak served with hand-cut chips, sautéed onions and a choice of Cajun or pepper sauce or garlic butter.] we ordered one medium rare and one medium well. Both were cooked as requested and tasted ok for a minute steak. Steak comes with hand cut chips and choice of sauce. I’d like to give some fair feedback here and not be too critical. I like the thick home cut chips, they were nicely cooked on the surface and almost perfect but some of the larger ones were a little underdone in the center. I ordered garlic butter; this came out still mostly hard in a nice little jug. My partner ordered the pepper sauce, it was a bit more béarnaise than pepper, it had no pepper taste.

Waitresses were nice and friendly, and checked on us to see if we needed anything. During service though, lack of professional training is apparent.

We really enjoyed the food, wine and atmosphere and would like to come back again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portmarnock, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great as usual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My friends and I were in sale e pepe tonight. One of our group is from Florida and really enjoyed her meal. It is always a pleasure to eat here. The staff are lovely and the food eceptional.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“lovely food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband booked the restaurant for my 50th birthday as we had came to Malahide for the weekend.I had ate here several times before and the food was always beautiful.i had the 2 course menu which was great value for 20 euros and my husband had the chowder and fillet steak.The service was excellent and so was the food.A complimentry desert with a candle and a drink for both of us was a lovely surprise.Would recommend this restaurant to anyone.A big thankyou to all the staff for making my birthday such a special night.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love the FOOD!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend love this place to eat. It is worth exactly what you pay for. Meals are very filling. I always get the Chicken Marsala. It is absolutely devine. They always have a different type of soup which is lovely every time. The chocolate brownie is absolutely lovely to finish your meal with. It has pecan nuts in it but you honestly don't taste them. Would recommend this to everyone. It is especially nice at night time to eat there. Staff are very friendly and your meal is freshly cooked which you don't get in most places!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SALE e PEPE also viewed

Malahide, County Dublin
Malahide, County Dublin
 
Malahide, County Dublin
Malahide, County Dublin
 

Been to SALE e PEPE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SALE e PEPE, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.