We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than expected.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links to your Saves list
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strand Road, Portmarnock, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portmarnock
Chiurce
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Much better than expected.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend break. We got a great deal. We had interconnecting rooms. One family room with two double beds and double room. Family room was very big. Rooms are very fresh and nicely decorated. Huge bath tub in the family room. Double room was similar standard but not as big.
One complaint was that there was no fridge in the room. We have a one year old so keeping prepared food is important. The hotel does not keep fridges that it can bring in. Other hotels I have stayed in do.
breakfast was very nice. Good choice of the food you expect.
The hotel has been refurbished to a very good standard. It's a very short walk to the stand. The DART station is give minutes away by car. Service was very friendly. Will go again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    214
    63
    26
    20
See reviews for
131
338
22
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I celebrated my 50th birthday with my family staying for 4 nights. Despite a few hiccups with the actual booking, once we arrived the staff were very helpful, friendly and welcoming. The hotel is beautiful and the location and views are amazing. I would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel and indeed I have booked to stay again over the Christmas period!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Met some friends here recently. The welcome from the reception staff was excellent, the bar and restaurant staff were also friendly, experienced and welcoming. Views from the hotel are superb and the golf course looked so inviting. If only I had time to play that day! 40 minutes by bus and 25 minutes by taxi to and from town. For a combined city and scenic trip, this is the place.
We will certainly return.

Room Tip: Beach and garden views both very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed here with a friend on a deal. Wonderful location, scenic and quiet. Pretty gardens lead straight onto beach. Reception staff pleasant especially Andreas. Upgraded our room for 25 euros per night. Lovely views and we were so lucky to get a wonderfully sunny weekend at start of December! Unbelievably warm during the day but freezing at night. Breakfast very good, poached eggs cooked to order and excellent...just one small point...they should have been served on a warm plate instead of a stone cold one. Had a bar meal on first day and quite honestly was very disappointed...frozen chips and poor beef burger...a hotel of this quality should be able to serve fresh home made chips and decent burgers...a few small changes would make all the difference. The staff are all very pleasant and helpful.we had a lovely walk, 40 mins, into Malahide along the beach and watched swimmers! Yes! On 1st December! Brrrrrr!
Caught the Dart, €10 for a family day ticket so we could jump on and off all day...went to Dalkey and ate a long lazy boozy lunch in the Queens Bar...(Bono is a regular but absent on this occasion ) and then back to Malahide and taxi back to hotel.
Would stay here again as newly renovated rooms lovely and it was great having a balcony and a fridge...just wish the bar food had been better. But full marks for renovation and comfort of the hotel.

Room Tip: Front rooms are the best with magnificent views even at night with the lights sparkling on the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyrone
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Romantic break with wife which was very relaxing and pleasant. Fairly handy to get to off the M1 motorway, just follow the signs for Malahide and then the R106 road, hotel is signposted once you get this far. Staff very friendly and helpful and the room was lovely, bed comfortable with complimentary bottle of wine on arrival with the package we had chosen. We ate in the bar food section and the food was really excellent, my wife had the steak and I had the haddock and potatoe fishcakes, both full of flavour and cooked to perfection. Coastal location so nice for bracing walks in Autumn. We drove into the city centre on Sunday and this was drama free with limited traffic and followed the signs for Grafton street parking. No problems getting parking on Sunday morning and enjoyed a few hours shopping. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Try to get one with a sea view, although all are pleasant with nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

8 of us spent a 2 night weekend in this beautiful hotel on w/e 16/11/12. Very impressed with this hotel from the minute we stepped inside,the girl at reception was wonderful, above and beyond really counfident and couldn't have been more helpful.the rooms with a wonderful view of beach & sea were excellent you couldn't ask for more for a relaxing weekend.The restaurents was a little disappointing the menu had a limited choice of mains the only meat on menus was sirloin steak that had a supplement charge of 12.50. 5 of us ordered fish from menu while 3 ordered from bar menu, 1 of party asked should there have vegetables with meal and 3 of party had finished before vegetables arrived. This brings me to the bar the bar staff which numbered 6/7 will definitely win the hide and seek award for Europe,they just moped around life seemed to have passed them by they just looked straight thru you and did not see you,while waiting to be bypassed again at the bar a customer who was standing beside me after finally catching the eye of one of them a feat in itself chastised him over the lack of service only to be told that they had other customers to serve to which the customer pointed to the 6 other people waiting to be server while 3 of the staff chatted over in the corner 0 out of 10 for bar staff, 10 out of 10 for hotel. And finally 3 cheers for bar staff for winning hide & seek competition for Europe and should retain their world title again this year. (THEY WERE A DISASTER)

Room Tip: Look for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed here for two weekend nights 16-18th November 2012 in a delux room. Beautiful room overlooking the golf couse, with the sun shining in every morning. Very clean and spacious and very quiet. Staff are very courteous and helpful. The hotel is lovely and very clean everywhere. We ate in the restaurant one night and the food was high quality. There was a good choice for breakfast. Did not use the golf course. If you are seeking a bit of peace and quiet this is the place to find it. We will definately be back and I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links

Address: Strand Road, Portmarnock, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Portmarnock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portmarnock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portmarnock Hotel & Golf Links...where nothing is overlooked but the sea. Luxury 4-star golf resort hotel overlooking the Irish Sea. Just 15 minutes from Dublin Airport, nestled between the picturesque, seaside villages of Malahide and Howth and 40 minutes from Dublin city centre. The hotel combines modern elegance with the grandeur of a 19th century home once owned by members of the Jameson Whiskey dynasty. Behind these elegant facades lie state of the art conference & meeting facilities designed to serve your every need. The hotel's clever design ensures all 138-guest rooms have a view of the seaside, garden or golf course. Top 100 rated Links Golf Course - 18 hole championship links designed by Bernard Langer (the only Dublin based hotel with its own links course). Complimentary WiFi/Internet access throughout the hotel, complimentary parking, direct beach access, bar, cocktail lounge, restaurant, fitness room & treatment rooms/beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portmarnock Hotel Links
Links Hotel Portmarnock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.