We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel from "the Shining" except for loud band under our room!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Waterside House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Waterside House Hotel to your Saves list
The Waterside House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Donabate On The Beach | Dublin Airport, Donabate, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Donabate
Manassas, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hotel from "the Shining" except for loud band under our room!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This hotel was our least favorite place to stay while in Ireland. It was almost empty but on our last night a loud band played in the bar directly below our room for a couple pours after 9 at night. Rooms were a bit shabby and the breakfast served was our least favorite meal while on an 11 day trip to Ireland.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    86
    53
    37
    31
See reviews for
83
153
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I was at this hotel for a wedding and stayed the night. The dinner was average at best. The bed was extremely comfortable, but the decor of the entire hotel needs to be revamped - it is very, very outdated. At the breakfast service the next morning the staff were extremely rude and swore openly, and repeatedly, in front of the hotel guests. There was also no review/suggestion card in my room for me to leave a comment on the hotel, I had to go to reception and request one - quite unprofessional.

TLDR; beds are to die for, staff are rude, decor is tired and worn.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I went to a wedding her last week. It is an average hotel and it could do with an overhaul.,The staff are friendly enough but there just wasn't enough of them! The food wasn't memorable either and the room was average.I wont be returning

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I visited here with my Daughter and had the most memorable time! she selected Ireland for her Graduation Gift and the Waterside did not disappoint! The staff was stupendous as well as the outside terrace that we enjoyed dining at Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner!! The view from our room was Spectacular and filed with olde world charm!! We are already making plans to revisit in the spring!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Me and my wife visited this hotel for my brothers wedding.
Beautiful location the bar service was little slow but that was to be expected the food at the wedding was some of the best food i have ever tried.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

fantastic beachside location seaview room well worth it hotel is in a quiet location but has a restaurant and a lovely bar serving food all day we had a ground floor seaview room stepping from the room onto the terrace brilliant the village of donabate about 2 miles away is really nice has everything you need try cates cafe really good, hotel staff very pleasant we had 2 issues which were dealt with straight away

Room Tip: seaview room every time
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Location and views really are something else. Hotel should/could be updated a bit here and there. Not much but a few wee modern touches would be nice. Having said that the hotel really is fine. Food and drink very nice. Staff very helpful and always pleasant. All this place is lacking is an outside hot tub steam room and a gym. I have no problem recommending this great hiden gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Waterside House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterside House Hotel

Address: Donabate On The Beach | Dublin Airport, Donabate, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Donabate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Donabate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterside House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterside House Hotel Dublin boasts 35 well appointed bedrooms. Nineteen of the bedrooms, over look the sea and have every facility to enhance your comfort. Just a stones throw from this beautiful sandy beach and with panoramic views of Howth Head, Lambay Island and Malahide, we will ensure your stay will be a stress free and tranquil experience. If you prefer the warm green colours of Ireland, then choose one of our rooms overlooking the greens of the local golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Waterside House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waterside House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.